4.2 GM to 4.2 Final question

Discussion in 'iPad' started by ri0ku, Nov 3, 2010.

1. ri0ku macrumors 6502a

Ok so I am not a developer or anything but I know you can install the GM of 4.2 on an ipad without being one. I think I might do this today but my question is, if I put the GM on my iPad what happens when the final version comes out? will it automatically install/update via iTunes?

Thanks

(Also I think its pretty lame that its took nearly 6 Months for Apple to release an OS update to things the iPad should have had at launch) but just my opinion

2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

robbieduncan

Unless bugs are found in the GM that are serious enough to stop it going live the GM is the the same as the final version. That's the whole point of it.

3. ri0ku thread starter macrumors 6502a

Yes I know that, but my question is when they release the Final version to the public via iTunes do the ipads with the GM on get updated to the "official" final release?

4. firestarter macrumors 603

firestarter

5. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

robbieduncan

What part of "is the same" is confusing. Of course they don't get updated: they GM is identical to the mythical final so iTunes doesn't see them as different so it doesn't update.

6. ri0ku thread starter macrumors 6502a

... The GM will have been named different in its file structure surely? like when You get updates for games for example, when a GM is released to testers then the final Version is released to public it replaces the GM.

No need for the attitude I am only asking for a question to be answered. You didn't answer it you replied with something I already Knew and did not ask about. Sheesh

7. ri0ku thread starter macrumors 6502a