4.3.1 Strings

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by dudeabiding, Apr 9, 2011.

  1. dudeabiding macrumors 6502

    dudeabiding

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    #1
    Has anyone had any luck with the Strings on the new OS? I go to my normal spot in Core Services/Springboard app and dl the english.iproj but when I open it (Komodo w/a Mac) it sure doesn't look the way it used to and I'm loathe to fool with it. I'd like to delete some annoying strings, if possible.

    Thanks in advance for any help.
     
  2. fisherking macrumors 601

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #2
    this was kicking my ass too (i used to change strings on my mac as well).
    no longer works, it changes the file type. so...

    i tried doing this with ifile ON the phone, and it works.
    (make sure you copy the original strings file to your mac first as a precaution!)
     
  3. dudeabiding thread starter macrumors 6502

    dudeabiding

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    #3
    Thanks! I had just figured out to go look using iFile after posting. Seems much more... user-friendly. Did you simply go to Property View and erase/delete the line (example, "slide to unlock")?
     
  4. fisherking macrumors 601

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #4
    i used the text viewer, and replaced any text i don't want with a SPACE.
    seems safer than deleting the line... (just my own sense of precaution..)
     
  5. dudeabiding thread starter macrumors 6502

    dudeabiding

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    #5
    Tried that, seemed to work, resprung, but I'm still getting an off-center "slide to view" at the bottom right of Lockscreen when I get a biteSMS text. Took care of it in 4.2.1, guess I'll take a break and try it again later. Thanks for the help.
     
  6. fisherking macrumors 601

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #6
    look thru the strings, there is more than one "slide to view"...
     
  7. dudeabiding thread starter macrumors 6502

    dudeabiding

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    #7
    Did. :) Will try again later. What I did was to remove the text between the
    " ". That's how I did it last time. Is that what you did?
     
  8. fisherking macrumors 601

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #8
    i removed the text, replaced it with a blank space...
     
  9. dudeabiding thread starter macrumors 6502

    dudeabiding

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    #9
    So "Slide To View" became " " is what I did. Are you saying you just left a longer space?
     
  10. fisherking macrumors 601

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #10
    just a single space...
    make sure you find all the 'slide to views'.

    possibly one in bitesms??
     
  11. dudeabiding thread starter macrumors 6502

    dudeabiding

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    #11
    I used Search to find them all, I thought. Pulled up my last file from 4.2.1 with all strings removed- will use that as a template to go through the new files. Bite? Don't think so, this is an Apple one. but if I fail again, I'll pore through the bite app. :)
     
  12. dudeabiding thread starter macrumors 6502

    dudeabiding

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    #12
    Bite it was! Hidden deep with its strings lurked the culprit. Thanks for the suggestion. I also upgraded to the newest beta, which seems to work ok.
     
  13. Blinded macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    #13
    Would it possible for someone to post the original 4.3.1 SpringBoard.strings? I overwrote the original on my phone with an old one I had on my desktop from 4.1 that I had modified, like a doofus. I now don't have a backup for the 4.3.1 original. I guess that's what I get for being tired and not paying attention or backing up the original.
     
  14. Blinded macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    #15

Share This Page