4.3 (4.2) update and no audio

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by awr, Mar 10, 2011.

  1. awr macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    #1
    Hi all, wondering if anyone else had this issue. After new update to Apple TV, I have no sound at all.

    Tried unplugging and all that, even tried a different HDMI cable.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Icaras macrumors 603

    Icaras

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    California, United States
    #2
    This issue occurred to me one time after updating 4.3, but not immediately. All I did was put it to sleep and then wake it back up and it resolved by itself.

    But seeing as you power cycled it, that should have worked....really odd. I bet Apple will release a 4.3.1 for :apple:TV soon to remedy this.
     
  3. flyro macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Location:
    Texas
    #3
    Similar Issue

    I ran the new update last night, but now I have issues playing video files from iTunes. Sticky playback with no audio. These are m4v files which I have previously played on Apple TV. Put it to sleep and the issue is no better today. After a power reset the problem is still present.
     
  4. declandio macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    London, UK
    #4
    I also lost sound after the upgrade. Tried changing cables, restored it, sleep, power cycle, all no good.

    The atv is connected to the tv with HDMI and then tv digital audio out is connected to a digital receiver / amp. It used to work fine. PS3 is hooked up in exactly the same way and still works. The only thing that's changed is the atv software.

    I can't figure out what the f@ck is wrong, it's really annoying!

    Is it possible to downgrade it? I never got myself a micro-usb cable so don't have any 'blobs' for the previous firmware (if they're necessary?)...
     
  5. awr thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    #5
    thanks all for your input - i don't have cables either to do a factory reset.

    i let the apple tv sleep for about 24 hrs, when i turned it back on, sound worked for about 3 seconds (menu sounds) then disappeared again . . .

    If anybody who experienced this figures out a fix, please share!

    quite annoying as we're now stuck with useless devices.

    thanks in advance . . .
     
  6. flyro macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Location:
    Texas
    #6
    Update

    I'm connected to the TV with HDMI. Audio into a/v receiver with digital optical cable. All audio is good except through network from iTunes on my old Titanium Powerbook (used as a media server). Video playback from same source is "dodgy".
    After digging through different forums today, I have learned that a reset within the ATV2 GUI will not work. It will force you to update to the newest version upon restart. The only, relatively easy option I found is to force the ATV2 into DFU mode.
    Here's one link to a "How to": http://www.mydigitallife.info/2010/10/25/how-to-put-apple-tv-2g-into-dfu-restore-mode/

    I have yet to attempt this fix. If anyone has any luck or discovers an alternate, please post.
    ' luck.
     
  7. awr thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    #7
    This may be a stupid question, but does anyone know how to bring Apple TV OUT of recovery mode?
     
  8. declandio macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    London, UK
    #8
    Not sure but if it's anything the same as iPhone, you'd have to hook it up to iTunes.
     
  9. abnjunk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    #9
    Same issue

    Updated to 4.3 yesterday. This morning no sound whatsoever. Unplugged everything, did a reset, the whole nine yards and still nothing. Hope there is a fix forthcoming.
     
  10. flyro macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Location:
    Texas
    #10
    Follow the link in my post immediately above your initial post.
     
  11. flyro, Mar 11, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2011

    flyro macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Location:
    Texas
    #11
    According to a post in an apple support discussion; " This is because they most likely have a Dolby Digital track and you have Dolby Digital passthru on. If you turn this off in the audio/video settings the ATV will use the first audio track which is aac and you will have audio.

    Unfortunately this is not what is supposed to happen. A clear bug and missing QA on Apples part. In 4.2 this used to display an error until you played a file from itunes which has a DD track, then all was well. Now even if you play a file from iTunes with DD you still get no audio unless you tell it to ignore the DD track completely.

    This really ***** since 95% of my content has multi channel DD and 2 channel AAC and I don't want to listen to movies in stereo.

    I seriously doubt Apple will fix this soon though since they never bothered fixing the original bug. My guess is to just turn DD passthru to Auto and live with you ripped movies playing in stereo till iOS 5 and hopefully, hopefully they will have added a DD playback device playing a ripped movie with DD to their QA process.".

    I'm not sure about this as my Dolby is already set to "Auto".
    BTW, You find this under:
    "Settings"
    "Audio & Video"
    "Dolby Digital Out"

    Good luck.
     
  12. flyro, Mar 11, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2011

    flyro macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Location:
    Texas
    #12
    I just tried the "Dolby fix"...no love there. I was already set to "Auto", but changed the setting to "Off". I still get a "burst" of audio from the file every four seconds.
     
  13. gunthermic macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    #13
    That is very interesting.

    I have 2 ATV2's.

    The one in Living room is connected to A/V Reciever via HDMI. All my encodes(done on HB) have both 5.1 and AAC. They play with Dolby Digital 5.1 just fine. (Second track)

    The one in the bedroom, however is just connected to the TV via HDMI. So all the encodes have always played the AAC(First track).

    However last night the first time I fired up a movie in the bedroom. Movie plays no sound at all. Put ATV to sleep, brign back. no sound. Turned TV off and back on and it seemed to resync the HDMI handshake.
     
  14. awr thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    #14
    still without audio - dolby was already set to "auto". tried switching to "on", "off,", and "auto" again, still just get the 4 sec burst of audio then nothing . . . .

    restored my apple TV today to no avail . . .

    man this sucks.

    thanks everyone for your input - hopefully they/we will figure this out soon.
     
  15. joeydog macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    #15
    Video issue as well

    I'm having the same audio problem, but also having an issue where one movie will only play from the begining. If you try to scrub forward and start it, it will play for 1/2 a second and then pause. Anyone have that as well.
     
  16. fbeard macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    #16
    Same Audio Problem with Upgrade

    I'm hooked up like several others here. I have two HDMI ports on my HP TV, a Cox box in one and the Apple TV in the other. Audio passthrough for the Apple TV worked fine and played through my home theatre system...until I ran the 4.2 upgrade earlier today. Now the only audio I get from the Apple TV is through the HP's speakers. Same thing occurs if I swap the Cox box and the Apple TV's HDMI ports. So it's obviously the Apple TV.

    This is really disappointing. Who wants to listen to their iTunes library or rent a movie with only the TV speakers for audio? Hopefully there will be a fix for this. This problem has got to kill iTunes rentals.
     
  17. flyro, Mar 11, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2011

    flyro macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Location:
    Texas
    #17
    Sorry to hear this. I went in and checked just now. Music from iTunes is fine. Netflix is good and I rented a film through ATV and audio was good there also. So for me, it's only streaming audio of MPEG-4 Video files from my old G4 Macbook and /or my 17" Macbook Pro. NOTE: Other M4V files on the Macbook Pro play fine. It only seems to be files that were converted using "Wondershare" that are affected. However, they did play BEFORE the update.
     
  18. declandio macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    London, UK
    #18
    Same here- I get sound through the TV but it no longer passes through to the amp. Considering taking it back to an apple store to see if they'll swap it for one without the new software...
     
  19. fbeard macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    #19
    Audio Problem

    Hi Declandio,

    Let us know if you have any luck with that. It'd also be nice to know if Apple recognizes a problem with the upgrade.
     
  20. deputy_doofy macrumors 65816

    deputy_doofy

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    #20
    I didn't read all the posts, but here's what happened for me.
    Upgraded my own Apple TV 2 (to iOS 4.3). NO problems with sounds.
    Upgraded a client's Apple TV 2 (to iOS 4.3). Went completely silent.

    Before panicking thoroughly, I went into his TV's HDMI settings and found audio set to analog. I switched it to digital (with fingers crossed) and I have sound again.
     
  21. alfonsog macrumors 6502

    alfonsog

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    Cape Coral, FL
    #21
    Why don't you just run hdmi to the receiver and be done with the optical cables?
     
  22. sdsvtdriver macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Southern California
    #22
    I have found after updating to 4.3 that airplay cuts out. the iphone/ipad shows playing but no sound. then suddenly, the sound resumes. i have not isolated a cause yet...
     
  23. awr thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    #23
    Thanks for your input - I checked and unfortunately my TV doesn't have those HDMI setting options . . . so basically the Apple TV sound plays through my TV, but won't pass through to my reciever. (my reciever has no HDMI inputs)

    Anyone know if they're working on a fix for this or if we're just stuck?

    Unrelated question: if I bought my apple TV at an apple store, do I need the reciept to return it? Can this issue justify swapping out for a new one (in Apple's eyes)? I figure maybe I can get my hands on a new unit that hasn't had this update yet . . .

    Thanks again in advance . .
     
  24. chille macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    #24
    I can't seem to get a handle on this.
    Since the 4.3 update, none of my m4v-files that i have converted from mkv with MKVtools using passthru on the h264 video and audio converted to AAC 5.1 work.

    But just now, I converted a mkv file (h264/AC3 5.1) using passthru on both video and audio, and it WORKS!

    Initially, when I first bought my ATV2, AC3 audio seemed to worked just fine. But after the first update, it didn't, and I had to convert all files to user AAC 5.1.

    Someone who has any idea what's going on? Which audio codec should I use?! Is ATV2 supposed to support AC3 at all?
     
  25. declandio macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    London, UK
    #25
    I will let you know. I went through the motions and called apple support, they told me to restore etc and asked a bunch of questions. I told them I had restored a few times, from within the on-screen menu and then via iTunes, with no success. They ran out of suggestions and had to book me an appointment with a 'genius'. I'm 99% sure the genius will replace it without too much resistance.

    Unfortunately, the nearest appointment that was convenient for me (too busy at work this week to be able to skive off to the apple store) is on Saturday, so I'll post back once I've come back from the apple store.

    The tech guy on the phone said that it usually takes up to 3 months for new products on the shelves (or refurbs) to be preloaded with the latest firmware, so the chance of getting an exchanged unit with old firmware are pretty high. He also took details about my tv (including firmware version), AV receiver and my chosen connections. He said that info would be fed back to the product engineers so that they can look into it.

    If they weren't such control freaks, I could downgrade the software myself at home and they wouldn't have to swap the unit. Silly f@ckers. If only I had a micro-USB cable, I could have saved the ssh blobs, downgrade the software, and they wouldn't have to replace the unit or even deal with me over the phone. I only managed to get a cable last night and by then, apple was no longer signing blobs (or however you phrase that) for the previous software version.

    I asked the tech support guy if they've had many calls about this. He said they've received a few but not 'a lot'. Call them if you have this problem so they know that it's real and not just a small handful of people.
     

Share This Page