4.3 fix tv show sorting / multiple audio?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by omni, Mar 9, 2011.

  1. omni macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    #1
    I'll prolly ask this for every update...

    But has 4.3 fixed tv show nexting and or multiple audio tracks (director's commentary)?

    Thanks
     
  2. Omne666 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #2
    Well...the latest update and no fix for what is probably been the biggest gripe.

    Better luck next time.

    At least we can watch MBL.TV. Of course, thats if you 'follow' MBL...and as I live in Australia, thats not happening for me. Wheres AFL? (Australian version)

    So, six months into the life of the ATV, and it still lags behind the product it replaced. Makes you question....who the hell is running this show?
     
  3. omni thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    #3
    from one omni to another ;) thanks!

    I have 3 appletv1's and I refuse to update them all until at least the sorting of TV shows gets sorted out. I have over 2000 tv episodes and really not looking forward to paying money to confuse the hell out of the family.
     
  4. BlackMangoTree macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    #4
    Apple TV 2 is all about them making zillions of $$$ Apple don't care about what we want.

    The Apple Tv 2 is a turd.

    Apple the last few years have gone so far down hill. They are pathetic.
     
  5. jaw04005 macrumors 601

    jaw04005

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    AR
    #5
    I wonder if they're working on a UI overhaul for the "computer" section or something?

    Surely, they know it's a problem and this is the 2nd iOS update for the Apple TV.
     
  6. Omne666 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #6
    OK...confused.

    The ATV1s have the TV Series the way it should be...one listing which then breaks into season listings which then break into episodes.

    The update that came out is for the ATV2.....isnt it? Hence no change to the ATV1 series.

    What are you looking to change??
     
  7. bucksaddle macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    I think he's talking about upgrading the actual units from Apple TV1 to Apple TV2, not the software - until they fix the metadata problems.
     
  8. The Mad Hatter macrumors 6502a

    The Mad Hatter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Location:
    SoCal
    #8
    They also need to fix the cover art for TV shows. Right now it takes a random one from a sublist, and uses it for the rest in that list. That's fine for some series' season, but there are shows that have artwork for each episode. I mean it works fine for individual movies, why not TV shows?

    Just another grip. ;)
     
  9. omni thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    #9
    sorry - yeah, upgrading from ATV1 to ATV2.

    There are things I like about ATV2 but this whole metadata issue is a deal breaker.
     
  10. rick6502 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    #10
    Atv2

    That seems to be fixed in the newest update.

    I agree the sorting thing is annoying. But when the performance of ATV2 is so much better. I had ATV1 160 and ATV1 40 and was very happy. I bought at ATV2 on a lark (so cheap!). Within a month, I placed both ATV1s for sale and purchased 2 more ATV2s. So, yes the sorting is something that needs to be fixed, but the relief from syncing issues and unresponsive remotes is wonderful. I'll make you a heck of deal on an ATV1 160...:D
     
  11. VTMac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    #11
    I can only assume you like to sync your content. I own both ATV1 and ATV2. As far as I'm concerned, there is no comparison. ATV2 is far, far better than ATV1.
     
  12. newagemac macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    #12
    It's not actually random. They take the cover art from the first episode that was added to the Season and it's based on the album field I believe. Make sure your metadata is filled out correctly for that to happen though. For example, a season 1 episode from Modern Family should say "Modern Family, Season 1" under album. That's how it is for TV shows bought from iTunes.

    I'm not sure what happens if you don't list anything for the album name. You could try removing the album name and maybe it will actually show the cover art for each individual show?
     
  13. Omne666 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #13
    Actually, interface wise, the ATV1 still beats the ATV2...the ATV2 feels like the ATV1 did about 2 software updates earlier. It needs tweaking. Otherwise I agree...the ATV2 is a fair upgrade to the ATV1. Especially when you consider the power consumption difference plus speed plus capabilities re 720p.
     
  14. From A Buick 8 macrumors 68040

    From A Buick 8

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Ky Close to CinCinnati
    #14
    I have been using playlist folders and smart playlist to handle all of my TV shows. It works well for me.
     
  15. Omne666 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #15
    Using playlists is fine, but compared to the ATV1 handling of TV Series, its clunky. It works yes, but its not the same. The fact you HAVE to setup anything is a backward step.

    I use smart playlists a lot...based on stars/actors, directors, years, when added to library, even for my wifes insistent argument the 'Chick Flick' IS a genre. (Which it isnt btw!!!)

    I will give playlists one big bonus though....the ATV keeps playing episode after episode in playlists which it doesnt elsewhere.
     
  16. From A Buick 8 macrumors 68040

    From A Buick 8

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Ky Close to CinCinnati
    #16

    I agree it is not the prettiest solution but it does work. It may be awhile before the ATV2 adds it and there so many other advantages to the ATV2 (for us anyway) that i am not going to let this one aspect hold me up.

    Like my dad allways told me "Better is sometimes the enemy of good enough"
     
  17. Omne666 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #17
    I agree with the better/good enough comment. I'd change all my ATV1s in a flash if I had the funds free.

    Less power use, handles higher def (at least sharper using HB). Seems to hold the connection to iTunes better also. Occasionally I have to quit and restart iTunes with the old ATV1s. I imagine thats the Home Sharing benefit.

    My sole ATV2 does have one other annoying feature. Every time I change selection...movies to tv to music or within any of those to any of the sub selections, the damned spinning wheel comes up for a few seconds. Its like 'Load the damn library file' once will you!!! Is it just reading the section you select, hence the constant rereads? Or am I the only one experiencing this??
     
  18. From A Buick 8 macrumors 68040

    From A Buick 8

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Ky Close to CinCinnati
    #18
    I am not experiencing the spinning beach ball. what is your set up. I have my 2 ATV connected through ethernet cable, my iTunes is running from a firewire drive.
     
  19. Omne666 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #19
    Im serving off a iMac D2C 2.16Ghz, a drobo holding the library itself connected via firewire 800, and every things hardwired with ethernet Cat5, admittedly through a airport extreme an a gigabit switch.

    This only happens on the ATV2...the ATV1s (btw...I stream to all ATVs) while take longer to actually load the library then the ATV2 initially, the entire library seems to be loaded. With the ATV2, change group selection or sub group, and like I said, the dial appears for a few to 15seconds. No matter how long the things been on and connected. Its annoying.
     

Share This Page