4 Digit Lock - 6 Digit Lock

Discussion in 'iOS 9' started by Blujelly, Sep 15, 2015.

  1. Blujelly macrumors 65816

    Blujelly

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Location:
    South East England
    #1
    Assuming this will change from iOS 9 (beta) to iOS 9.

    How does everyone feel about the 4 - 6 digit mandatory lock? I understand why they've done it, but Oh my I think it's going to be annoying.

    I rarely use my 4 digit lock anyways, I can't even think why I do use it on the off occasion (except for an iPhone restart)
     
  2. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #2
    I like the new security lock option. If my iPad or iPhone where to be out of my possession for some reason, the feature helps to cut down (time wise) on another person being about to get into my device.
     
  3. gsmornot macrumors 68030

    gsmornot

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #3
    Should be no big deal with the ID Sensor but I have an 8 digit password already so 6 would be less.
     
  4. Blujelly thread starter macrumors 65816

    Blujelly

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Location:
    South East England
    #4
    Interesting!
     
  5. Böhme417 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    #5
    I welcome it. I've wanted a longer passcode but don't like having the full keyboard come up.
     
  6. Nevaborn macrumors 65816

    Nevaborn

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    #6
    I am the opposite when I get my 6S Plus next week I will have a long password and use Touch ID
     
  7. sigp6 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    #7
    I've always used a 13 character password - I was quite happy when Touch ID came along :)
     
  8. sbailey4 macrumors 68030

    sbailey4

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Location:
    USA
    #8
    Its not "mandatory". You can still use 4 digit if you want. It just defaults to 6. Change it in settings. But with touchID why not use 6 cause you are not entering it that much anyway.
     
  9. Superhai macrumors regular

    Superhai

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    #9
    I used to have 8 digits passcode for years now, and if you only choose numbers, you will still just get the numeric kaypad.
     
  10. Kuroz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2013
    #10
    Thats how i used to feel when I got the 5s, but you should know when your fingers are sweaty/oily the Touch ID fails a lot. Even when they are not just using TouchID leaves oil smudges on the home button and over time if you dont wipe it with your shirt or something it'll fail.

    I think more often than not I am entering my passcode since, when I am in a hurry I don't want to bother with a failed TouchID reading and have to keep retrying. Just my 2 cents.
     
  11. SpasticPat macrumors 6502

    SpasticPat

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Location:
    Apollo, Pa
    #11
    I actually use an alphabetical phrase for my lock and Touch ID makes it so i only have to type it in when I restart my device anyways so no bother.
     
  12. niji macrumors 6502a

    niji

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Location:
    tokyo
    #12
    sorry i am not a beta tester so i haven't been able to use this feature yet but does this 6 character password only allow numerals?

    if not, then you simply take apple's gentle nudge that you stop using numbers only and use a 6 character alpha password instead. much much more harder to crack.
     
  13. Superhai macrumors regular

    Superhai

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    #13
    Passcode is not new, and can be numbers only or alphanumerical, the new is that it is mandatory.
     
  14. SactoGuy18 macrumors 68020

    SactoGuy18

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA USA
    #14
    I have a big question though: I'm using a four-digit passcode under iOS 8.4.1 on both my iPhone 6 (in addition to Touch ID) and iPad Air. What happens when I restart both devices after the upgrade to iOS 9.0--will the system prompt me to enter the new six-digit passcode? If it does, then I have no worries; otherwise, I do have concerns of an accidental bricking of both devices.
     
  15. brian017 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Location:
    Kilkenny, Ireland
    #15
    No, you keep the 4-digit code unless you go into Touch ID & Passcode in Settings and choose a 6-digit or custom digit code
     
  16. Idarzoid macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    #16
    I'm gonna change from 4 to 6, I'm keeping the first 4 digits the same and fill last two with whatever I decide to use.

    Still memorable but more secure than before.
     
  17. SactoGuy18 macrumors 68020

    SactoGuy18

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA USA
    #17
    That was true in the beta releases, but what happens when the final release requires you to use a six-digit passcode? Will it prompt you to first enter the four digit passcode, then prompt you to enter the new six-digit passcode? This is why I have concerns about an accidental bricking of your iOS device.
     
  18. Grayburn macrumors 68000

    Grayburn

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Location:
    London, England
    #18
    I've stayed with the 4 digit myself.
     
  19. KALLT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #19
    Yeah, Touch ID has become a real pain the in the arse after a couple of months. I assume that’s about the point where the oleophobic coating will have worn off. Touch ID fails in about 1 out of 3 cases for me and setup is not possible unless I thoroughly clean my home button and wash my hands (and wait for a bit until they are dry). I also noticed that when my iPhone is getting hot, Touch ID is even more likely to fail. It’s the most frustrating part of my iPhone right now and I’ve stopped using Touch ID for everything except unlocking the phone.
     
  20. Superhai macrumors regular

    Superhai

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    #20
    This is interesting, at least for me, as I have a Lifeproof cover on my 5S, and always thought that would be a problem, but from your story it looks like it actually keeps it from detoriating.
     

Share This Page