4 GB Ram coming in June??

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Canada Chas, May 12, 2009.

  1. Canada Chas macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    #1
    I have been holding off getting a MBA because of the lack of RAM. I would like to run VMware on the MBA so I can use it for my primary Business machine. I don't think 2 GB will be very smooth.

    What does everybody think of the possibility of the MBA getting a 4 GB option at WWDC next month?
     
  2. Scottsdale macrumors 601

    Scottsdale

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #2
    If the MBA is updated in June, it definitely gets 4 GB of RAM.

    It just makes a lot of sense with Apple doubling its RAM offerings in nearly all Macs in last year.

    We just have to hope this June release makes sense for Apple. It could be a long wait if June isn't the update schedule Apple has in mind.
     
  3. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #3
    I run a Windows XP virtual machine via VMWare Fusion primarily running VMWare Infrastructure Management and its been smooth long the way. This is with a Rev. A HDD model too
     
  4. Scottsdale macrumors 601

    Scottsdale

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #4
    I never would want to share 2 GB of RAM between two OSes. The thought of sharing that seems a little crazy. And the thought of Boot Camp concerns me from the aspect of wasting space for Windows.

    I would stay away from Windows on an MBA myself, until the MBA gets more RAM and more drive space... hopefully between now and WWDC.
     
  5. Canada Chas thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    #5
    I think there is a good chance of it happening. My gut tells me that Apple will be putting 3G wireless cards in their notebooks at WWDC. If they are going to do that, I am hoping for a RAM boost too.
     
  6. n0de macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    #6
    Using parallels I alot 768mb RAM to my XP VM, it is tolerable but would definitely be better.

    I love my MBA (rev A) but the 2GB limit is the one thing that might prompt me to upgrade.
     
  7. Veinticinco macrumors 6502a

    Veinticinco

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Location:
    Europe
    #7
    Sorry to argue semantics, but there's no such thing as "definitely". Very likely is about as far as you can go.

    I think 4GB RAM is actually less a priority than storage space, a faster CPU, and better battery longevity. The proportion of those actually maxing out at 2GB RAM under normal daily use even using 'Pro' apps is relatively small. Even if you do hit the RAM ceiling, it's always a user-manageable situation rather than say choking due to a slower CPU.

    With the OS/software focus these days focussing on streamlining, making things leaner and less resource-hungry, I don't see it personally as a deal-breaker for me as long as the other stuff is present in a rev.C. Then again I would never dirty my MBA (or indeed any other Intel Mac) with a Windows partition.
     
  8. mhnajjar macrumors 6502a

    mhnajjar

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    #8
    I do not know what is the big deal with people asking for 4GB on a MBA!!!

    There is nothing that the MBA cannot do with 2GB that it would be able to do with 4GB. If it was that important of a deal, Apple would have put it as a standard on the MBP before the MBA regardless of that fact that you can upgrade the MBP while you cannot do the same for the MBA.

    4GB isn't needed by most people and it is definitely not needed for a portable machine like the MBA.
     
  9. Dr_Maybe macrumors 6502

    Dr_Maybe

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Location:
    South America
    #9
    Just browsers alone use a lot of RAM. CPU's are pretty fast these days. But if you run out of RAM you go to the hard drive which is thousands of times slower. That's why RAM is so important.

    A normal Mac with a bunch of apps open at the same time is enough to use plenty of RAM. Browsers, an email app, skype, iTunes. Not much more is needed.

    Who are these people that don't use RAM? Do you only have one app open at the time? Only one or two browser windows/tabs?

    I have laptop that is almost 3 years old. I want more RAM if I buy a new machine. The MBA is not a cheapo netbook, it's $2500.

    So bring on the RAM.
     
  10. Scottsdale macrumors 601

    Scottsdale

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #10
    I will take a 1.86 GHz Penryn 17W SL9400 with 4 GB of RAM before I will take 2.13 GHz SL9600 with 2 GB of RAM.

    I think the 4 GB of RAM, at least in high end MBA, is definitely if released in June. I think that the longer before an update, the more likely a new case, and if that anything can happen like lower powered and more portable MBA.

    Apple has doubled its RAM offering in all its Macs in the last releases. It seems "definitely" to me. Apple cannot ignore the MBA's two biggest competitors the Dell Adamo and Lenovo x301, which both have 4 GB in high end models. And the Dell has an ULV CPU, which I pray to GOD Apple doesn't do. I want the SL9x00 CPUs.

    In fact, I will take a rev B MBA right now with 4 GB of RAM and no other changes before all of the other changes and 2 GB in a rev C MBA. Really, RAM is the number one priority to make the MBA a primary Mac for me moving into the future. I lived with 2 GB of RAM before, and it is main limitation of the MBA.

    So, I would take...
    1.86 GHz
    4 GB RAM
    128 GB SSD
    Nvidia 9400m
    same form with possible lines on LED display
    same large aluminum bezel
    same 3 lbs

    before I would take...
    3.06 GHz ULV CPU (just to make a point, no not currently feasible)
    2 GB RAM
    1 TB SSD
    Nvidia 9600 GT/DUAL 9400m
    Black Anodized Aluminum
    15" OLED
    no bezel
    Glass Trackpad
    2 USB ports
    1 Firewire 1 eSata 2 mini Display Ports for dual external graphics like MP
    Integrated BLURAY Optical Drive
    1/4" thick
    1.5 lbs


    Unfortunately for me, I can work around all of the other things including drive space which is easily accessed via AEBS attached drive, but I need 4 GB of RAM for Primary Mac use moving forward. I thought it was ok in the past to get by with 2 GB, but this is 2009 and 4 GB is needed for use as a primary Mac.

    All of those other things are amazing and great, but 4 GB of RAM makes it a primary Mac with all of the apps I want to use and the hardware I am already used to in the current MBA.

    In my opinion, the 4 GB of RAM is just that critical. I would love the otherwise perfect MBA, but with 2 GB of RAM it is not a sole computer for me. It remains my primary use Mac, but I want an MBA that can do everything, and I need 4 GB RAM for it to do everything for me.
     
  11. mhnajjar macrumors 6502a

    mhnajjar

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    #11
    I have different machines. The ones that are used by me only are my 3.06 iMac and my revB MBA.

    Lets talk about the MBA, since it is the weak link of the two, I open Safari with 8-15 tabs, MSN messenger, Yahoo messenger, iTunes, Entourage daily and some others and I NEVER had any issues with RAM!

    Surprised? :eek:

    Mac OS is way more capable than Windows :)
     
  12. tigres macrumors 68040

    tigres

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Location:
    Land of the Free-Waiting for Term Limits
    #12
    I use my MBA rev B SSD (Replace my issue driven MBP) daily as my second machine for business.

    I can say that I use the following daily without any issues in speed or functional shortfalls:

    Office 08 (but it sucks)
    VMWare (fusion) XP SP3
    Calyx point windows
    Encompass via iis
    RDC to my server

    The above are pounded on at all times when I am using the MBA, and quite honestly, I have no issues. Now it is not up to par with the speed of my 20" iMac at the office, however i'd rather not carry that around.

    I too was concerned with the 2gb ram, but honestly it holds it's own and very well imo. Lastly, I am pretty surprised with the drive size for my needs/wants, I have learned not to be such a pack rat, and utilize idisk for my extremely important stuff, and trash the rest (with a backup of course.)

    To each his own, but I think you will find the ram to swap with the VM pretty nicely.

    FWIW
     
  13. pbkiller macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Location:
    Puerto Rico
    #13
    Sure, that's exactly what they said back in the day... 128MB of RAM is enough...

    Try using a STOCK iBook with 256MB and Panther/Tiger... Let's see if RAM doesnt help. Developers keep making software that's more power & memory hungry, so having more RAM is a cheap alternative to upgrade and keep your machine for a longer time.
     

Share This Page