4 gb upgrade on 2.4ghz MBP - worth it?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ByronT, Jun 14, 2008.

  1. ByronT macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    #1
    Hello!

    I've finally made the decision to get the low-end model of the Macbook Pro with the student discount and free iPod Touch. I'll be using an Apple credit card so I'll also be getting $75 free iTunes points. However, I'm torn between the decision to upgrade to 4gb or not. I will be using the computer for games like Counter-Strike: Source as well as recording my songs with Protools M-Powered.

    I know 4gb would be better - but is it worth $200 extra? What does everyone think? Rip off?
     
  2. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #2
    First off it's never worth getting it from Apple.

    So you said you want to play CS:S and record music--the standard 2GB is plenty for those tasks; even if you wanted to do a little Photoshopping, 2GB is good.

    In case you do want a memory upgrade, buy from NewEgg or something, not from Apple.

    Like I said you don't need it.
     
  3. MarkMS macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    #3
    It's not worth the extra $200. You can get 4GB of RAM yourself for about $90-$100 (Crucial, NewEgg, OWC, etc) and install it yourself in a matter of 3-5 minutes. Check out the RAM buying/installing Guides here.

    http://guides.macrumors.com/Buying_RAM
    http://guides.macrumors.com/Installing_RAM
     
  4. ByronT thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    #4
    Wow! Thanks for the quick replies! I will definitely check out your suggestions!
     
  5. CWallace macrumors 601

    CWallace

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #5
    Do not get the RAM from Apple, but do get the RAM. I bought a 2.4GHz MacBook Pro two weekends ago and it was hurting for performance with only the 2GB it shipped with. Once I was able to put 4GB in it, performance improved significantly.
     
  6. chiefroastbeef macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas/ Hong Kong
    #6
    I've started playing CSS since school ended. It runs nicely on my 2.4 MBP, I recently upgraded to 4 gb of ram, and noticed no difference.

    Like everyone else is saying, unless you want to pay 2.5 times the price, get ram elsewhere.

    I run CSS out of Codeweaver's Crossover for games.
     
  7. chiefroastbeef macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas/ Hong Kong
    #7
    What kind of programs are you running to notice the difference? The programs I use aren't ram intensive, so I didn't notice a difference when upgrading.

    I got my ram here: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231135

    $75 shipped!
     
  8. CWallace macrumors 601

    CWallace

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #8
    It was not so much the programs themselves, but the number. I can have four or five up at any one time.
     
  9. m85476585 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    #9
    I would recommend 4gb for anyone running VMWare or Parallels. With 2gb, Fusion only allocates 512mb to Windows by default, and I wouldn't want to go much higher than that, but with 4gb you could easily allocate 2gb or more to Windows.
     
  10. GoxKok macrumors member

    GoxKok

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    #10
    Dropping 100 bucks on 4GB of RAM was the best thing ive done to my computer. Having the elbow room is ****ing great!
     
  11. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #11
  12. burningrave101 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    #12
  13. Zman5225 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Location:
    Tacoma WA
    #13
    Faster cas timing can increase speed according to some tests. His old timing was probably 5-5-5-12
     
  14. cherry su macrumors 65816

    cherry su

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    #14
    4gb is worth it (future-proofing ftw!) right now is the sweet spot to buy it; DDR2 is slowly being phased out in place of DDR3 (so the price of DDR2 memory will go up)
     
  15. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #15
    Don't you mean 4-4-4-12? ...or 5-5-5-15?
     
  16. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #16
    Because my tablet needs more RAM anyways, so all I did was move my old MBP RAM to my tablet and put the new RAM into my MBP

    Same timings; different brands.
     
  17. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #17
    alphaod, your old RAM and the new RAM have the same timings? How could you get a performance boost from changing brand names?
     
  18. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #18
  19. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #19
    So you didn't even switch brands! That's really interesting how the same brand and the same RAM would give different performance! I guess you just got a "good batch"! By the way, on your Geekbench score, I just downloaded and ran it, but since I didn't buy it, it only runs a 32-bit test. Can you run a 32-bit test on yours, so I can have an apples-to-apples (no pun intended) comparison?
     
  20. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #20
    Oh no, I changed brands; the older memory was Kingston, the new one is OCZ.

    Anyways, the results:
    http://browse.geekbench.ca/geekbench2/view/64423
     
  21. B1gMac macrumors regular

    B1gMac

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
  22. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #22
  23. sevimli macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #23
    Exactly!!!! Same here!
     

Share This Page