4 Gigs of RAM in iMac Core 2 Duo

Discussion in 'iMac' started by diehardmacfan, May 24, 2007.

  1. diehardmacfan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    #1
    I was wondering if the iMac could hold 4 gigs of ram as two 2 gig chips. Right now the maxed out amount from apple is 3 gigs. I would also be able to get faster speeds because it would be installed in matching pairs.

    But the motherboard according to intel can hold 4 gigs of RAM.

    I was wondering if this is possible or if any one has tried it. I think that it is possible, but i think apple isnt offering that option because they need to sell their 1 gig chips and their 512 mb chips.

    In the past many apple computers could hold more ram than their techincal specifications say t hatt they can.

    Thanks for your responses.:)

    Julian

    :apple:
     
  2. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #2
    It can hold 4 GB, but the system can only recognize about 3.2 GB, so it's pointless to put in a full 4 GB. This is true of any 32-bit chipset, but many PC vendors will happily sell you 4 GB of RAM that you can't fully use.
     
  3. nate13 macrumors 6502

    nate13

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Location:
    Fargo, ND
    #3
    i thought the core 2 duo's were in fact 64 bit...?
     
  4. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #4
    Oh dear here we go again.

    Search, please. We have only answered this question weekly since the C2D machines were released.

    It's a 64 bit OS (mostly). It's a 64 bit processor. But the supporting chipset is these particular machines can only access 3.0 (or a little more) RAM. So Apple sensibly caps it at 3. Thats the way it is.

    An HP or Dell C2D laptop will take 4 Gb -- but will only use 3.3 Gbs of that and ignores the rest.
     
  5. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #5
    64-bit registers, 48-bit virtual RAM addressing, 36-bit physical RAM addressing, in a 32-bit chipset.
     
  6. scottlinux macrumors 6502a

    scottlinux

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    #6
    They are but the motherboard they are sitting in on these apple machines cannot take full advantage of the chip. That's the hype over the Santa Rosa chipset coming soon...
     
  7. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #7
    I don't think the logic board has any effect on this, but is due to limitations of the current chipset (that Santa Rosa will hopefully resolve).
     
  8. aquajet macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Location:
    VA
    #8
    There really should be a sticky about this.
     

Share This Page