4 gigs or ram on my 2.16?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by superspud, Nov 13, 2008.

  1. superspud macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    #1
    i just installed my 4 gigs or gskill ram that i ordered from new egg, according to every thread i've ready only 3.3 was supposed to register, but when i turned on my macbook and went to "about this mac" it registers all 4 gigs....



    im not complaining, but what gives?
     
  2. iknowyourider macrumors 6502a

    iknowyourider

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    onanorthboundtrain
    #2
    I'm no expert but go to Activity Monitor (in apps / utilities). Highlight System Memory (in the lower section). The pie should show all mem.
     
  3. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #3
    The system sees that there are 4 gigs installed, but if you look at activity monitor, you'll notice that the computer never uses more then 3.3gigs of it before it starts using the pagefile
     
  4. iknowyourider macrumors 6502a

    iknowyourider

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    onanorthboundtrain
    #4
    Do the "page outs" register in a session? Like as long as the monitor is open or what? Hope my question is clear.
     
  5. superspud thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    #5
    free: 2.08 gb
    wired: 294 mb
    active: 470mb
    inactive: 170mb
    used: 934mb


    the pie shows 4gb total
     

Share This Page