4 gigs vs 8 gigs.

Discussion in 'iMac' started by lulla01, Oct 21, 2009.

  1. lulla01 macrumors 68020

    lulla01

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    U.S
    #1
    just picked up an imac 21.5 high end model with 4 gigs of ddr3 ram.
    Question is will me upgrading to 8 gigs show a significant different in everyday performance ?

    also correct me if im wrong but the machine has 4 slots for ram?

    i usually watch movies browse the web and play occasional games adding in some photoshop usage is the 8 gig upgrade worth it?
     
  2. littlelarry33 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    #2
    I know it has 4 slots but I too would like to know if it is a substantial boost or if it is even needed now.
     
  3. negatv1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Location:
    MI
    #3
    8GB is great, but your 21.5 only has two SO-DIMM slots. You'd have to buy the much more expensive 4gb SO-DIMMS to get 8GB.
     
  4. macjunk(ie) macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    #4
    and for your usage...4GB is more than enough..
     
  5. toddngina macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    #5
    Negative. Listed for BOTH sizes on the Spec sheet: "4GB (two 2GB SO-DIMMs) of 1066MHz DDR3 SDRAM; four SO-DIMM slots support up to 16GB"
     
  6. dwd3885 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    #6
    yep, 4 slots on the 21.5 :)
     
  7. negatv1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Location:
    MI
    #7
    Hmm.. why is there not a build to order option of greater than 8GB if there are four slots?

    Maybe someone who actually has one can verify. I'm waiting for my 27inch...
     
  8. pukifloyd macrumors 6502a

    pukifloyd

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    Scottsdale
    #8
    +1...both the new imacs have 4 slots

    to the OP
    i don't think you need extra RAM for that kind of work...if you really want it then upgrade it to 6 gb...but i think you'll be fine on 4gb:)
     
  9. Ace134blue macrumors 6502a

    Ace134blue

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #9
    IT has 2 slots, only the 27 inch has 4 slots
    Oh wait nevermind :p. Thought they used two 4gb so-dimms.
     
  10. toddngina macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    #10
    Maybe they figured if you're hardcore enough to go past 8 GB, then you most likely won't be buying the 21.5, so why bother offering it. The order page for the 21.5 specifically mentions 4 sticks for the upgrade to 8 GB (and why it's only $200): "8GB 1066MHz DDR3 SDRAM - 4x2GB [Add $200.00]"
     
  11. fr4c macrumors 65816

    fr4c

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Location:
    Hamster wheel
    #11
    8GB seems a bit overkill, so just stick with the 4GB. Even at 4 x 2GB it is still quite expensive just for normal computer use.
     
  12. drrich2 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    #12
    Since you can add RAM after purchase it seems you can wait awhile, even if you do upgrade. The main potential benefit I see that could affect a substantial segment of the user base is if you run Windows XP, VISTA or 7 via virtual machine software (e.g.: VMware Fusion, Parallels) and want to give 4 gigs RAM to each OS (Mac OS X & Windows) and have overhead to concurrently run app.s in both.

    Richard.
     
  13. larzy macrumors regular

    larzy

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Location:
    Denmark
    #13
    I have a question - can I mix the current 2x2GB already in the new iMac with the 2x2GB I bought from Crucial for my Macbook Pro 13"?

    Or is it better to have 4x2GB of the same brand / type of Ram manufactor?
     
  14. Hexley macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #14
    For a moment I found the 6GB suggestion odd until I remembered that I upgraded my late 2008 Macbook Pro's memory to 4GB and kept my 2GB.

    So I have a "free" upgrade until 4GB SO-DIMMs go down in prices then upgrade to 16GB for hopefully $200-300. :)
     

Share This Page