4 x 4TB drives inside 2008 Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by kirkbross, Nov 18, 2013.

  1. kirkbross macrumors 6502a

    kirkbross

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #1
    Can I put four 4TB drives in the drive bays of a 2008 Mac Pro?

    I'm trying to understand the concept of "maximum storage." Why does an OS care how big a drive is?
     
  2. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

    MacUser2525

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    Should be good and it is not the OS most times that cares rather the firmware of the machine, some manufactures limit that size in there. Now when running a 32bit OS I believe that is where it gets tricky OS wise as they can only address up to a certain size drive. Think the idea is up to 3tb or something like that.
     
  3. leighrk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Location:
    Minnesota US
    #3
    4 x 4TB drives inside 2008 Mac Pro

    I have this setup in a 2010 - as 2 x 8TB arrays with an accelsior card for booting OSX, running 10.8.5. Works fine. I don't see there being a difference between the earlier and later. Older win doze machines had a 2TB limit but not OSX.
     
  4. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #4
    The Mac Pro raid card apple card that ships as an option in a 2008 has a 2.2tb drive limit.

    Older MS operating systems such as XP can't boot or partition a drive larger than 2tb but can read and write to drives initialised in a newer OS such as 7.
     
  5. monkeybagel macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    United States
    #5
    The 2TB limit is not a Windows limitation, but rather an MBR limitation. OS X using GPT partitioning, so it is not affected by this limit. This mainly applies to the boot drive and not a data drive.

    If you are using GPT partitioning in Windows, you can have a partition greater than 2TB as well.
     
  6. OS6-OSX macrumors 6502a

    OS6-OSX

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    California
    #6
    Don't know about 4X4TB but I've had 4X3TB in Raid 0 in the past.
     
  7. jabeling macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Location:
    Amsterdam, Netherlands
    #7
    @kirkbross
    Have you already tried it?
    I would like to do the same...
     
  8. Rich.Cohen macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2013
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #8
    I had 3 4TB WD RE drives and a 500 GB SSD in my Mac 1,1 for a while.
     
  9. MattDSLR macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Location:
    Canada

Share This Page