4 x 8 GiB RAM in the i7 iMac?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Komiksulo, Nov 19, 2009.

  1. Komiksulo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    Ontario
    #1
    Will the new i7 iMac be able to use four 8-GiB RAM modules for a total of 32 GiB?
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    Good luck finding SO-DIMMs in that density. The majority of P55 based boards are limited to 16 GB as it is.
     
  3. Komiksulo thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    Ontario
    #3
    I'm thinking about a couple of years diown the road. I ordered my iMac with 4 x 2 GiB. :)
     
  4. 53x12 macrumors 68000

    53x12

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    #4
    I think Eidorian is right in that the hardware is limited to 16GB.
     
  5. Komiksulo thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    Ontario
    #5
    Ah well. Even 8 GiB is WAY more than I have now. :)

    :: waits for new iMac ::
     
  6. sparkie7 macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #6
    32GB RAM is overkill. In 2 yrs time you would have upgraded to a new machine by then. 4GB RAM chips would cost too much.

    16GB would be more than sufficient for 99% of people with an i7 iMac b/c if one needed more they would buy a Mac Pro
     
  7. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #7
    apple always seems to "hide" the real max limits of the RAM in the computers, however in this case it might be a 16GB max :(

    i would love a 32GB limit though, i plan on having this machine a loooooooong time!

    sorry to bring the thread back, but i was researching ;)

    would it be wise for me to install a 2x4GB kit along with my already installed 2x2GB kit? (standard config). 4GB isnt cutting it, and i plan on running 3 VMs at a time + DVD SP + FCP etcetc. processing power isnt the factor here its the RAM that is! 12GB seems more appropriate, are there any speed "slow downs?"
     

Share This Page