4 Years Later... Same Processor???

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by oo7ml, May 18, 2015.

1. oo7ml macrumors 6502

Hi,

I have a Mid 2011 MBA. It has a 1.7 GHz Core i5 processor.

I just bought a new / refurbished Early 2014 MBA from the Apple Store. It has a 1.4 GHz Core i5 processor.

Does this mean that my 4 year old laptop has a faster processor OR am i missing something here :eek:

2. ryanmillercg macrumors newbie

ryanmillercg

Your suspicion is correct.. you're missing something. CPU performance is dictated by far more than just clock speed.

Take a glance a this performance chart, you'll notice your new computer is much faster in single and multicore performance. http://www.primatelabs.com/blog/2014/05/macbook-air-performance-may-2014/

I'm sure you've also noticed that the battery life is a great deal better.

The integrated graphics in the 2014 mba are a huge step forward compared to the 2011.

The newer chipset also allows for things like faster RAM, faster SSD, and much more.

3. motrek macrumors 68020

I don't even know why they publish those GHz numbers because they have very little to do with anything.

Both of these chips will run anywhere between 800MHz and ~3GHz depending on thermal headroom, i.e., how hot they are.

The newer chips run cooler so they can run at max speed longer (basically indefinitely) whereas your older chip will heat up and run slower after not too long.

4. 2IS macrumors 68030

The GHz rating means a whole lot when comparing it to processors of the same family and generation. It's in fact pretty much the only way to know which is the faster processor. It's when you start comparing clock speeds of processors several generations apart where it becomes a rather useless metric.

5. oo7ml thread starter macrumors 6502

Thanks for clarifying.

Would it not make more sense for Intel to change the name of the processor, or at least add some variation?

6. Significant1 macrumors 6502

They have. If you click on any family here: