40% CPU Usage?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by bli625, Sep 17, 2009.

  1. bli625 macrumors 6502a

    bli625

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    #1
    I have an iStat Menubar and it's constantly showing me 40% CPU usage. It also shows the same number in Activity Monitor. However, when I look at the processes running, they don't add up to 40. In fact, they only amount to around 6% or so. I did click "All Processes", but nothing was running that would cause it to be 40%.
     
  2. airplaneman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    Try restarting the application or restarting. If it's still happening, I'm stumped. Good luck!:)
     
  3. bli625 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    bli625

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    #3
    My problem is that there aren't any applications running that are taking up the 40%. All the processes combined only amounts to about 10%. I also restarted the computer. I also just tried an archive and install and it's still the same.
     
  4. airplaneman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Location:
    USA
  5. After G macrumors 68000

    After G

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #5
    Did you make sure to select "All Processes" when looking in Activity Monitor?
     

    Attached Files:

  6. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

    NewMacbookPlz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #6
    This is key! There's lots hidden by "My Processes".
     
  7. sammich macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #7
    Also, if you have 'Show top 5 processes', iStat Menus will tell you this.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page