400 - Bad Request

Discussion in 'Site and Forum Feedback' started by Applespider, Apr 8, 2005.

  1. Applespider macrumors G4

    Applespider

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    #1
    For most of the evening (1900 to 2330 UK), each time I tried to get to the Forum page with Safari, it came up with a 400 Bad Request page. The jist of the error seemed to be that the cookie string was too long.

    After getting to the forums fine with Firefox, I quit Safari (which had probably been open for two or three weeks) and emptied its cache. And then the forums came back properly with me logged in and my last visit at 6pm UK time which was correct.

    Any idea why this might have happened?
     
  2. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #2
    There was some server work being done last night... maybe that had something to do with it?
     
  3. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #3
    Yeah, I had the same problem in Safari. After I discovered that it worked in Camino, I tried deleting cookies and that fixed it.
     
  4. yolbol macrumors newbie

    yolbol

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2017
    Location:
    Florida
    #4
    I've been having the same problem each time I go into websites like Bloomingdale's or OFF 5th. Time after time for at least one month. Apple spider, can you tell me how did you "empty the cache"? I have no idea what is a cache! (sorry for my ignorance...)
     
  5. rshrugged, Jan 27, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2017

    rshrugged Moderator

    rshrugged

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    #5
    Edit to add what a cache is -- A simple explanation about browser caches is found here (the browsers used to show -how to clear- are old versions but the methods today are similar and the general explanation is still sound) - https://askleo.com/whats_a_browser_cache_how_do_i_clear_it_and_why_would_i_want_to/

    @Applespider 's post was from 2005 so I doubt they'll be a response. I'm using Safari 10.0.2. To clear cache --

    Plan A:
    In the Menu Bar click on Safari -> Preferences -> Privacy -> Manage Website Data... -> Either Remove All or select a site from the list and click Remove.

    Plan B:
    In the Menu Bar click on Safari -> Preferences -> Advanced -> at the bottom of the pane, click box Show Develop menu in the menu bar -> close preferences then -> In the Menu Bar click on the item you just created there, Develop -> in the dropdown, click on Empty Caches.
     
  6. yolbol macrumors newbie

    yolbol

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2017
    Location:
    Florida
    #6

    Thank you so much for your patience! I already did everything you adviced and it worked in each website I browsed. Their system ran smoothly...except for the Bloomingdale's website!!! Still, each time I click on an item either to buy it or to look at the details, it gets me to the same annoying screen...400 Error...Do you think it might have something to do with their website? Because I already deleted all my caches and emptied my trash! I can't find anything else I should delete!
     
  7. rshrugged Moderator

    rshrugged

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    #7
    Progress is good. :)

    I just navigated to Bloomingdale's and had no problem at the site. The next thing you can try is to flush your DNS cache. There are good, basic explanations of what DNS is, here (don't use the listed commands to flush, as they're dated) : https://www.lifewire.com/what-is-dns-2483184

    To flush, also called clear --
    First, you should already be regularly backing up (and cloning) your machine as a standard operating procedure. Prior to doing some maintenance, or something out of the ordinary, is an especially good time to do a backup.

    On to the flush --
    You'll be using the CLI (command line interface) in Terminal. If you're not sure how to open it, see here : https://www.techwalla.com/articles/how-to-open-terminal-on-a-macbook

    Notice the article says to be cautious in Terminal. Yes, disasters can happen, but if you're careful with what you do -- in example, if you don't know what a command means, don't just copy and paste off of any old site from someone you don't know without elsewhere verifying that command, maintain proper spacing and syntax within the command, etc... -- it's an excellent tool in your toolbox.

    Copy (triple click) the following in the Code Box and paste into Terminal (or type into Terminal exactly, from the s in sudo to the d in flushed; include all spaces in between):

    Code:
    sudo dscacheutil -flushcache; sudo killall -HUP mDNSResponder; say DNS cache flushed

    Press return (or enter); you'll be asked to enter an admin password. Type it in (you won't see the characters on the screen) and press return again. The last part of the command, "say DNS cache flushed", will execute an audio action to your speakers. Quit Terminal.

    The above command is for Yosemite version 10.10.4 and up, El Capitan and Sierra. If you have an earlier OS version the command would be different; see here : https://www.igeeksblog.com/how-to-flush-dns-in-mac-os-x/

    Before testing at Bloomingdale's, redo what you did in Safari as in post #5, plan A and B.

    Other references to the commands in the code box :
    http://osxdaily.com/2015/11/16/howto-flush-dns-cache-os-x-elcap/

    http://beebom.com/how-reset-and-flush-dns-cache-macos-sierra/
     

Share This Page