42 inch Plasma to macbook, Looks like crap, DVI - HDMI cable.

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Fred87nc, Nov 19, 2008.

  1. Fred87nc macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    #1
    I just hooked up my macbook thorugh a mini dvi- dvi adapter to Dvi - HDMI to my 42 inch panasonic Plasma 720p and Im afraid to say it looks like crap. It's not as clear and the words are dimmed, and the screen doesn't fit exactly the top is a half inch cut off. Any other settings or is this what I should expect?

    I think it's mostly the colors that make it ugly
     
  2. Matty0500 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    #2
    Is your resolution 1280x720? i'm assuming so. I have a panasonic 42 also, but i don't have it hooked up to my macbook, i have it hooked up over dvi-hdmi from a desktop pc and i have the same problem you're having. The only solution i've found is to use the catalyst control centre program on my pc. I'm not sure if there's an image scaling program like it for OSX, but if there is it might solve your problem.
     
  3. Fred87nc thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    #3
    The image overall is crappy, the screen is nice on the Macbook LCD and on the Plasma it looks like it doesn't use all colors, If I watch a video, it looks dark on the plasma
     
  4. pcorrado macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #4
    try setting it to 1280 x 768 (that is probably the real native res of your tv. The image, in my experience, is a bit softer on my TV as well - but not horrible by any means - you may also try setting it to 1280 x 1080 (if your tv will take the input) - this way your TV will downscale instead of up scale - this may improve it.

    also make sure the aspect of the TV is set to a 1 to 1 ratio seting (on Samsung its called "just scan") - odds are you do not want it set to widescreen or full screen
     
  5. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #5
    you will never have a crisp image on a tv monitor when compared to a computer screen. the pixle density just isnt near the same
     
  6. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

    NewMacbookPlz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #6
    If the colors suck, calibrate the plasma TV as a monitor just as you would the LCD panel.
     
  7. ntrigue macrumors 68040

    ntrigue

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    #7
    You're painting the same number of pixels across a much larger canvas. What'd you expect?

    MacBook = 96 ppi
    42" TV = 80 ppi

    Play with display settings but even my 1080p leaves a little to be desired.
     
  8. Bengt77 macrumors 68000

    Bengt77

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2002
    Location:
    Europe
    #8
    Is the picture 1080i or 1080p? I had my MacBook hooked up to my 40" LCD TV, and the picture was quite crappy. Couldn't even see the menu bar. Found out that was caused by the overscan 'feature' on the TV. But only through the menu icon for Displays, I could get the correct 1080p picture to my TV.

    EDIT: Sorry, I misread your question. Well, then it's what the above posters all say. On a 13,3" screen a resolution of 1280x800 pixels looks beautiful. On a 42" screen, however, a resolution of 1280x720 pixels looks crappy. The pixels are huge, and it's a good possibility that the screen is actually 1366x768 pixels. That means, that the picture is always scaled if set to 720p. Screens with that resolution suck big time. Haven't got a single clue as to why TV manufacturers made TVs with them to begin with. Had they just gone with 1280x720 pixels screens, everything would have been fine.
     
  9. ftaok macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #9
    To the OP and other posters.

    Since the OP says he has a 42" 720p Panny, the resolution is 1024x768 with rectangular pixels. Panny has never made a 1366x768 42" plasma.

    Here's my recommendations.

    1. Adjust your TV to get the colors you want. The plasma should be able to display the entire color palate that the Macbook is sending.

    2. Make sure you play with the overscan settings on both the Mac and the Panny. This will allow you to see the entire desktop and not have sections cut-off.

    3. I would suspect that the best looking resolution to set the Mac would be 1366x768, but I'm not sure if it would be selectable. If not, then try 1280x720.
     
  10. thechidz macrumors 68000

    thechidz

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Location:
    New York City
  11. jsonli macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    #11
    You'll never be able to use the TV for web surfing or anything that has a text display - but video will look as good as it normally does.
     
  12. roland.g macrumors 603

    roland.g

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Location:
    One mile up and soaring
    #12
    My dad has an older 42" Sony Wega Plasma and hooking up a Mac Mini through Dvi-HDMI looked awful too. Fuzzy letters. You could play a movie from iTunes or quicktime, but browsing was crap.

    Recently hooked up the same Mini for him to a 53" Samsung LCD and it looks fantastic, but I had to find the right resolution - 1366x768. Most LCDs and Plasmas seem to have that 768 res. Overscan can affect it too, but mostly I think it is the age of it, as older models don't do well, but newer ones seem to be designed to accommodate PC inputs.

    Everything looks great on his Samsung, and text is really clear.
     
  13. Davidkoh macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    #13
    LCDs are generally better for using as computer screens, that's why I always go with LCDs ;)
     
  14. Bengt77 macrumors 68000

    Bengt77

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2002
    Location:
    Europe
    #14
    Wait... let me get this straight. A 53" TV with a resolution of 1366x768 pixels? Is that wasted space or what? Such a big screen, and it's still only got this crappy resolution? Really, any LCD or plasma TV that's 37" or larger should be Full HD (1920x1080 pixels) by now. Thinking about that... this particular 53" TV has some huge pixels!
     
  15. roland.g macrumors 603

    roland.g

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Location:
    One mile up and soaring
    #15
    It's actually got 1080p, and it's Samsung's top of the line LCD. The picture on it is phenomenal and I thought I had seen some amazing TVs before. However, in order to keep the menu bar from being chopped off, etc, I set the res to 1366x768. At all other resolutions it looked pretty much as good, but would change how much of the desktop was on the screen. At that res. I didn't lose any of the Apple desktop, menu bar, or dock and all mail, finder, address bar and browsing was very easy to read at 6-10 feet.
     
  16. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #16
    You are not using the right resolution, thus the image is being modified by the TV.

    720p has a widescreen aspect ratio of 16:9, a vertical resolution of 720 pixels and a horizontal resolution of 1280 pixels
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/720p

    That's why it's call 720
     
  17. Davidkoh macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    #17
    Then you done something strange, the MB wont have any problem displaying it at the screens native res.
     
  18. ftaok macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #18
    I understand what 720p is. But before you start correcting people, do some research and you'll see that every 42" Panasonic 720p plasma has a resolution of 1024x768. The only Panny plasma that has a 720 horizontal lines was the 37" plasma, and even that was 1024x720.

    Just because the spec for 720p is 1280x720, doesn't mean the display device has to have that exact resolution. The TV scales the 720p signal from 1280x720 to 1024x768. It's not rocket science. There are many many many 1024x768 42" plasmas out there ... not just limited to Panasonic. They are all 16:9 panels because they use rectangular pixels that have a 16:9 ratio.

    You're comparing apples to oranges with regard to 720p. The definition that you're quoting is the spec for a 720p broadcast signal. I'm refering to the spec for a 720p display device (as defined by the CEA) ... which is along the lines of any display that has a physical screen ratio of 16:9 and has at least 720 horizontal lines.

    The OP is having problems with overscan which may or may not be correctable.

    ft
     
  19. Carnivor macrumors regular

    Carnivor

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    #19
    I have a 42" pany plasma, with native of 1024x768, im currently using the vga adaptor ( due to me needing to use old monitors aswell occasionally), and the results are amazing.
     

Share This Page