4870 + 2 ati 2600?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Macpropro80, Mar 5, 2009.

  1. Macpropro80 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    #1
    Hey I currently have 2 ati 2600s in my 2008 mac pro, If I were to get a new ati 4870 will I be able to use the 4870 and my 2 2600's at the same time? I need to drive 4 displays.
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    You can already run four displays off of two HD 2600 XT.:confused:
     
  3. Macpropro80 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    #3
    yes but i want more power! I need the graphical power of a 4870 but I also need to drive multiple displays.
     
  4. Trev311 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Location:
    Pumpkin Land
    #4
    Maybe he means 4 30in displays? I wouldn't see what would stop you from doing that. The obvious stuff applies, 4870 in doublewide slot, etc.
     
  5. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #5
    The only logical thing is power draw, but even a 4870 and two HD 2600 XT are under the max draw, so he should be fine.
     
  6. Macpropro80 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    #6
    So i should order it then? If it doesn't work or I don't like it, can I return it?
     
  7. Chaos123x macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    #7
    If your only using four monitors just take one of the 2600 cards out and sell it.

    THe 4870 is the most powerful card out there right now. (for mac).
     
  8. skyline r34 macrumors 6502

    skyline r34

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Location:
    San Diego
    #8
    I wonder which is the better card the ATi 512MB 4870 or the Geforce 512MB 8800GT? I might have to get the 4870 because I want to use the LED Display but I just want to know which is the better card and do you guys think when Apple release 30 inch LED it will come with adapters
     
  9. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #9
    The 4870 by LEAGUES.
     
  10. Battlefield Fan macrumors 65816

    Battlefield Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    #10
    Um the 4780 by far. Why even ask? On the pc side the only more powerful gpu from ati is the 4780X2.
     
  11. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #11
    And the GTX 295, 285, 280, and 260 from nVidia are better. We really expected a 260, but we got what we got.
     
  12. skyline r34 macrumors 6502

    skyline r34

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Location:
    San Diego
    #12
    sorry that I ask just wanted to know which one better before i drop $380 for the upgrade kit but thanks for the advice anyway

    thanks I will get the 4870 but it's a 7 week delay for the upgrade kit, hope by then we will see the new 30 inch LED 2560 x 1600 would be amazing to work on.
     
  13. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #13
    I'd go with two 4870's.

    That's if the new MP has dual PCI-X 2 lanes. Or 4 lanes. etc..
     
  14. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #14
    1. It's PCIe, not PCI-X. That was pretty darn short lived. :p
    2. The Mac Pro doesn't have the external power connectors for two of them. :(
     
  15. edspencer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    #15
    Will it take a 4870X2

    Anyone know if the new (Nehalem) Mac Pros will take the 4870X2?

    They give you the option of the basic 4870 but I'd like to get a 4870X2 from elsewhere and fit it myself - they question is will it work?
     
  16. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #16
    Define take.

    Windows will be able to use it, OS X will not.
     
  17. thedarkhorse macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #17
    maybe because some of their pro apps like Color in the final cut studio actually work better with ati cards than nvidia. But it would always be nice to have more options.
     
  18. edspencer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    #18
    Thanks, and sorry for lack of clarity...

    I will be using it for web development by day using OS X and 3 screens, then for games by night using Windows (and not really caring how many screens Windows can use).

    Sounds like I wouldn't be able to use this to power some of those 3 screens then if OS X can't use it? Do you know of any alternatives or where I should look for more info?
     
  19. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #19
    You would need two GT 120, running in slots two and three, for OS X.

    The 4870x2 would go in slot 1.
     
  20. edspencer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    #20
    Ah interesting, that sounds like a good solution. Presumably OS X would just ignore the 4870X2...

    On the off-chance do you know if the new Mac Pros will take an 8800GT? Googling brings up a lot of stuff pertaining to the old MPs, but nothing regarding the new version.
     
  21. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #21
    I remember reading something about them... not.

    Well, they won't take the 8800 GT meant for the 2006 Mac Pro, at any rate.
     
  22. edspencer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    #22
    lol I thought that might be pushing it a little ;)

    Thanks for your help, I'll keep searching and report back here if I find anything.
     
  23. Jpoon macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #23
    It's a shame that the Pro users don't see a new video card sooner than later. I've been enjoying my 4870 for about six months now lol.
     
  24. edspencer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    #24
    Yeah I'm on a PC currently, which is where my 8800GT is currently sitting. The main reason I'm moving to a mac is that it's easier for my work.

    I like games too though and it's hard to know which cards will/won't work with an MP...
     
  25. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #25
    Nine cards work.

    7600 GT, X1900, Quadro FX 4600, HD 2600 XT, 8800 GT, Radeon 3870, Quadro FX 5600, GT 120, Radeon 4870.
     

Share This Page