4870 graphic corruption?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by goodcow, Sep 27, 2009.

  1. goodcow macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    #1
    Model Identifier: MacPro4,1
    Processor Name: Quad-Core Intel Xeon
    Processor Speed: 2.26 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 2
    Memory: 12 GB
    Chipset Model: ATI Radeon HD 4870

    OS 10.6.1

    There have been two occasions now where I've gotten severe graphical corruption on the screen forcing me to reboot. Once I reboot, everything is fine.

    The first time I noticed it when trying to use QuickLook on some H.264 footage and it would playback all corrupted. I tried some Sony EX1 footage and the same thing.

    Everything was fine for about two weeks and then yesterday I was editing in Final Cut, applied a filter and noticed I started getting screen corruption again.

    Is the card messed up, or do I have some codec coflict or something?

    Any advice?

    Thanks.

    1920x1200 images:
    http://goodcowfilms.com/web/4870_cortruption_1.png
    http://goodcowfilms.com/web/4870_cortruption_2.png
    http://goodcowfilms.com/web/4870_cortruption_3.png
     
  2. Dr.Pants macrumors 65816

    Dr.Pants

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    #2
    If reboots are doing something, maybe you need a PRAM reset; however, I do think the graphics card is the culprit here.
     
  3. rikoshay macrumors member

    rikoshay

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    No. California (in the Redwoods)
    #3
    Have you blown the dust out your Mac's innards, paying particular attention to the cooler atop your graphics card? Do this first before you start thinking hardware failure.
     
  4. lannister80 macrumors 6502

    lannister80

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #4
    Yep, clean out your MP. Could easily be overheating of the graphics card due to dust buildup.
     
  5. goodcow thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    #5
    I've only had the machine for four weeks now.
     

Share This Page