4G Instead of LTE

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by tabishnaqvi, Apr 17, 2015.

  1. tabishnaqvi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2015
    #1
    I have an iPhone 5S Factory Carrier Unlocked .

    I am running IOS 8.3 on it.

    My Problem is that my cellular network provides LTE service and full coverage in my area. But I'll get 4G instead of LTE.

    I have tried to put sim on different brands phone to check the coverage and I got LTE signals on them. But on Apple products I only get 4G. I also have IPAD Air 2 with sim. I also checked on it same result 4G instead of LTE.

    I also noticed there is only three option in Voice & Data (2G,3G,4G) I think this might be a problem I have no option to enable LTE in both iPhone and IPAD.

    Let me remind I have checked my carrier on different brands phones which supports LTE and my Cellular Network is working fine on them with LTE coverage. So obviously there is no problem with my carrier.

    My iPhone model is A1457 and my carrier is on LTE frequencies,1800 MHz (FDD-LTE band 3) which completely supported by this phone model

    Can any one sort out the problem.

    Thank You !
     
  2. Coupz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
  3. sunking101 macrumors 603

    sunking101

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    #3
    In the UK we get 4G, no LTE.

    Here is an article on the difference between 4G and LTE:

    http://www.digitaltrends.com/mobile/4g-vs-lte/
     
  4. bigdaddy223 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    #4
  5. Maximeed69 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2015
    #5
    There no problem to fix it bro just relax , 4G = LTE its the same think
     
  6. bushido Suspended

    bushido

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    Germany
    #6
    huh why? its the same thing ... Vodafone calls it 4G here while T-Mobile went for LTE
     
  7. solodogg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    #7
    What he said. The carrier determines whether your phone shows 4G or LTE. Some carriers have decided to keep 4G listed for LTE services, while others have decided to brand their HSPA+ services as 4G, even though they were previously displayed as 3G by iDevices.
     
  8. Menel macrumors 603

    Menel

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Location:
    ATL
    #8
    Not necessarily.
    LTE is 4G; but 4G isn't necessarily LTE.

    4G term can apply to WiMax, HSPA+ or LTE.

    4G is a broad term, and not specific.

    Blame Switzerland. The United Nations ITU controls the terminology.
     
  9. Docd62 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    #9
    Different names for the same thing, basically. It's all marketing.
     
  10. JackieInCo macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Location:
    Colorado
    #10
    My T-Mobile Note 4 has a 4G indicator and a LTE indicator on top of each other. When the phone is on 4G, the LTE will disappear.

    When it is on LTE both indicators remain.

    T-Mobile does differentiate between 4G and LTE so they are not the same thing.

    My 6+ is unlocked and I tried AT& on my phone. It went right to 4G and the few times I could get LTE, it said LTE.
     
  11. Woochifer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    #11
    Have you independent verified that your location actually has LTE service? And have you done any speed testing to identify whether you have actual network deficiencies?

    Use the Coverage Map app, and see if any LTE cells are actually active from your location. Also keep in mind that 4G HSPA+ is already very fast and can outperform LTE if it has better signal strength. In some parts of my neighborhood, the HSPA+ speeds are higher than the LTE speeds because the LTE signal is weak in those locations.

    You could also go into field test mode to see if the service in your area is actually LTE, and the carrier simply identifies it as "4G."

    Lot of variables that you need to check before jumping to conclusions.
     
  12. Luis G. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015
    #12
    I had this problem on T-mobile and Verizon.
    With T-mobile I would drop from LTE to 4G where other phones I had in the past would always get LTE.

    On Verizon it would drop to 3g.

    T-mobile calls their HSPA 4G. It's useless unless for calls (poor audio quality) or texting.

    Verizon's 3G is at least usable to browse the web, call, and text.

    Turns out it was an issue of the iPhone 6 having slightly antennas than many other flagship phones. Apple refuses to see it as a problem.
    I am on Verizon now which is the only carrier in my area with a strong enough LTE network to keep the iPhone 6 connected to LTE almost all the times except in very large buildings. I could not keep T-mobile.

    I may return to T-mobile when I get an S6 to use along side the iphone 6. But we will see.
     
  13. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #13
    As far as what iOS displays, it can in fact be different depending on the carrier.
     
  14. Woochifer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    #14
    How's HSPA+ "useless"? Did you actually test the data speeds, and try them from multiple locations?

    I regularly contribute speed test results for Rootmetrics' coverage maps, and routinely get data speeds of 3 Mbps to over 10 Mbps over T-Mobile's HSPA+ network. In some areas of my neighborhood with weak LTE signals, the HSPA+ speeds are actually faster (something like 8 Mbps for LTE and 10 Mbps for the stronger HSPA+ signal).

    Even in areas with strong LTE coverage, you'll also get wide variations depending on whether an area has activated wideband LTE. At my office, the data speeds increased from 8 Mbps with HSPA+ to 22 Mbps with LTE, and it's now at 61 Mbps using wideband LTE. But, even before LTE was activated, the speeds were plenty fast for normal web uses.
     
  15. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #15
    4G is not exactly 4G. Technically, 4G is only DC-HSPA.

    LTE is true 4G.

    In some countries (like Australia here, where I live), all carriers actually use LTE, but they only display the 4G indicator for less confusion in the general public.
     
  16. Luis G. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015
    #16
    Yes I did try. I do not know if it was HSPA+ but according to what I've seen HSPA+ is T-mobiles 4G
    It was not possible to run data speed tests in most locations. I think once I was able to run it and I got 3mbps and was usable. But that was one time on my note 3 and has not occurred again, and every other time I would just get network retry errors.
    Yes I did try from multiple locations.

    Don't get me wrong their LTE speeds are ridiculous. highest I got was 72mbps download, 20mbps upload and that's the highest I've received from any carrier so far.

    Verizon's network for some reason doesn't disconnect from LTE. Everytime I check my phone it's LTE. T-mobiles network would disconnect me from LTE when I knew for sure it was an LTE area. This happened anywhere even outside of buildings.
    The most puzzling thing was when I knew the area was a 4-5 lte bar area. Sure enough 5-20 minutes would pass and I'd go from 4g to full bars of LTE.
     

Share This Page