4G/LTE not working on our U.S. iPhones in Denmark

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Rizvi1, Jun 6, 2015.

  1. Rizvi1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    Location:
    Laurel, MD (Baltimore, MD / Washington, DC area)
    #1
    We're visiting Denmark from the U.S. and the 4G/LTE won't work on our iPhones. It seems like it should though. Back in the U.S we have Verizon. I have the iPhone 5s A1533 and my wife has the iPhone 6 A1549.

    We both purchased Lebara Mobile sim cards today and both of our phones are giving us the network "Telenor DK" using the automatic carrier selection feature. But on both our phones, we're only able to get and use "E" ("edge" I assume) or "3G." Not seeing 4G or LTE.


    I looked on this page here: http://www.bredbaandsmatch.dk/english/mobile-broadband-coverage/frequency-bands/ and it says that in Denmark:
    • TDC has access to the 800 and 2600 MHz bands.
    • Telia/Telenor shares network and has access to 800, 1800 and 2600 MHz bands.
    • 3 (Hi3G) has access to 1800 and 2600 MHz bands.
    I then looked at the https://www.apple.com/iphone/LTE/ page and it says that the iPhone 5s A1533 model has the LTE Band Support:

    1 (2100 MHz)
    2 (1900 MHz)
    3 (1800 MHz)
    4 (AWS)
    5 (850 MHz)
    8 (900 MHz)
    13 (700c MHz)
    17 (700b MHz)
    19 (800 MHz)
    20 (800 DD)
    25 (1900 MHz)


    And the iPhone 6 A1549 model has LTE Band Support:

    1 (2100 MHz)
    2 (1900 MHz)
    3 (1800 MHz)
    4 (AWS)
    5 (850 MHz)
    7 (2600 MHz)
    8 (900 MHz)
    13 (700c MHz)
    17 (700b MHz)
    18 (800 MHz)
    19 (800 MHz)
    20 (800 DD)
    25 (1900 MHz)
    26 (800 MHz)
    28 (700 APT MHz)
    29 (700 de MHz)


    So it seems Telenor is giving us the bands both the iPhones need for it to work. Not sure why it's not working.

    The only other possible thing of note worth mentioning is that I'm on Software 8.1.3 on my iPhone 5s. I haven't yet updated yet to 8.3 which I think is the latest. And my wife is on 8.1.2. on the iPhone 6. She also hasn't updated yet to 8.3.
     
  2. Martin81 macrumors regular

    Martin81

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    Location:
    Germany
    #2
    What kind of product have you booked? If I look at lebara.dk it says that the data packages use 3G.
    So it is possible that Telenor has LTE but your package doesn't support it.
     
  3. Rizvi1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    Location:
    Laurel, MD (Baltimore, MD / Washington, DC area)
    #3
    Crap. That could explain it. Alright, I gotta find a prepaid provider who Can let me use the LTE.
     
  4. bushido Suspended

    bushido

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    Germany
    #4
    still be careful tho. lte doesnt mean lte. at least in Germany. u may get "lte" but depending on how much u pay the speed u get is different like i only have 21mbit/s lte on mine while others who r willibg to pay more get 52mbit/s lte etc
     
  5. Martin81 macrumors regular

    Martin81

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    Location:
    Germany
    #5
    Is 3G coverage that bad? I mean you have already bought these two Lebara SIM cards.
    I'm not sure how it is in Denmark, but for example in Germany you need a valid local address to activate a contractless SIM card.
    But it's still LTE. But your right: the max speed depends on your contract.
     
  6. Rizvi1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    Location:
    Laurel, MD (Baltimore, MD / Washington, DC area)
    #6
    3G isn't bad but if I can get 4g/LTE I'd like to. I'm in a good position to go with someone else on my card right now.

    We bought two of the LebarA SIM starter kits for 49kr each which is $7.30 USD each. starter kit is just the SIm and 10kr credit. I loaded up 100kr onto her card for 2gb of data. but on mine I'm now done with the 10kr credit. So rather than add more onto there I can find another SIM provider. Just have to figure out who I can get who will give me 4g/LTE for prepaid.
     
  7. Rizvi1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    Location:
    Laurel, MD (Baltimore, MD / Washington, DC area)
    #7
    Yeah I'm ok if it's a slower LTE. I just want LTE if I can get it
     

Share This Page