4gb already seems like it wont be enough

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by MacChinoNyc, Nov 7, 2013.

1. MacChinoNyc macrumors 6502

All I have open is 5 tabs in safari and app store open and all I have left is 1.65gb free ram. Does this sound normal?

2. JOSE891 macrumors 6502a

JOSE891

Yeah I have rMBP W/8GB and have 15tabs open W/ 3.34GB RAM remaning,

3. rei101 macrumors 6502a

Use Firefox. I have an old 17" MBP and I just added 6GB replacing the 2GB I used to have and everything runs great! The browsers load way faster.

4. MacChinoNyc thread starter macrumors 6502

Are you running ML or Mavericks? I thought it was supposed to be managed better with Mavericks. I'm still on ML as I'm new to this and want to try ML before upgrading.

I will try that and monitor.

5. Acorn macrumors 68020

Acorn

Mavericks will always show more memory being used because of the way it compresses it. if you look at the memory usage in activity monitor you will see what I mean. you can see how mavericks is managing the memory.

6. Mrbobb macrumors 601

Don't pay attention to that.

The relevant piece of information is PAGE OUT. As long as this number stays low, ur fine.

7. MacChinoNyc thread starter macrumors 6502

I am looking at activiy monitor and I'm down to 1.14gb free ram :0
    Is there another tool like activity manager that is free?

----------

Page ins is at 256mb and page outs is at 0 bytes?

8. Mrbobb macrumors 601

Then you are fine. Repeating myself.

Of course you can always force it to be not fine, like doubling the number of browser tabs and leave all apps open and never close them. OSX doesn't close apps until you explicitly tell it to.

If you want explanation of all the terms in the activity monitor, I suggest Google.

9. Rasta4i macrumors member

Rasta4i