4GB Memory Upgrade Worth it?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by photogy, Jul 10, 2010.

1. photogy macrumors member

i have 2009 pro 15 inch 2.8 GH with 4MB...

i am a photographer using LR 3 but also want to start making short video...and want to get Final Cut..how much more performance will i get i if add another 4GB of memory?

i shoot RAW (each file size around 20-25MB) and whilst current memorey works fine, can be a little slow someimies..

thanks!

2. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

mrsir2009

YEah you'll get a preformance jump. Maybe not a HUGE one, but it'll speed things up a fair bit :D

3. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

Check your memory usage and amount of page outs using Activity monitor. If you have a lot page outs and big swap file, then you need more

4. Mac-key macrumors 6502a

ok, so I'm still learning - what is page outs? and swap files? what does that actually mean?

i got 4gb of ram and right now my page outs are 435mb, and swap file is about 750mb.

is this good? bad? just curious

oh yeah, sorry about the hijack - just looking to further educate myself

5. phungy macrumors 68020

phungy

It's only worth it if you upgrade to 8GB of RAM.

/sarcasm

Yes it is worth the upgrade but RAM prices are higher than a year ago.

6. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

I'm not an expert when it comes to this but I'm trying to do my best and tell what I know and think it is.

Page out shows the amount of data that is transferred from RAM to HD, usually because of the lack of RAM. This causes slow downs as RAM is like zillion times faster than HD.

Page in is the opposite of page out, it means that the data is transferred from disk to RAM. Page ins are normal and actually a good thing as it means your OS and RAM is working. Everytime you open something, some of it is saved to RAM so it can be accessed faster (mostly in apps so you can quickly open it etc).