4gb modules (on the way for 32gbs) anyone has them?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by pipep, Dec 19, 2007.

  1. pipep macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    #1
    hey there, i have a few questions regardind the 32gb ram possibility on the mac pro.

    I have a 2,66 dual core mac pro + a macbook, both with 2gb of ram.

    Currently i use one computer for rendering with maxwell render, and the other for working with archicad, photoshop or final cut studio

    I want to work just with one computer from now on, so i will max out the ram on my mac pro, but as i've read on these forums, the 32gb possibility doesn't work because of the bus can't handle that much information, so i want to know if it's true, and if anyone has tried the 4gb sticks yet?

    I'm planning on buying just 16gb for now, but my doubt is if going with 8x2gb modules or 2x4gb (for double the price). the doubt is basically because if the 32gb when i complete upgrading next year) won't work, i'll just stick with 16gb...

    anyone has 32gb working on the mac pro?

    i'll buy the modules from OWC, as it's much cheaper than crucial, and these are the only two companies that send the sticks to me in Chile, where i live, so don't have many choices. Anyone has had any problem with owc, like kernel panics or something else?

    thanks in advance!
     
  2. Octobot macrumors regular

    Octobot

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    MPx12
    #2
    I haven't.. though from the looks of it, it is possible and safe..

    "Apple Mac Pro 8-core / Quad-core Memory upgrades from OWC fully meet Apple's specifications and use True Apple Qualified Heat-Spreaders to insure proper thermal compliance. Quality Memory from OWC lets you Max your Mac Pro to 32GB!"

    Which I figure you've read already..

    And people in the forums seem to like OWC for their Mac Pro's..
    Hopefully we'll have someone chime in who has a 32GB setup, to relay their experience.. though I am sure it will be fairly rare.. ;)
     
  3. pipep thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    #3
    thx for ur reply octobot, i think too it should work but as i've seen on the forums it might not....

    i think i'm going to buy the 16gbs though, as it seems nobody has 4gb modules... i don't wont to be the first on this matter :)

    another question, anyone knows if any difference in performance between "OWC Mac Pro Certified" and "OWC Mac Pro Qualified" ram?

    http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/memory/Mac-Pro-Memory

    for price i'll go with qualified ram as it's much cheaper, has lifetime warranty and seems to be exact as the others but without the Netlist Certification.

    so, anyone with "qualified" ram running on the mac pro?:confused:
     
  4. Butthead macrumors 6502

    Butthead

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #4
    Recommend you visit the Apple FCP/Motion forums on http://forums.creativecow.net/forums.php and ask there, or even the www.lafcpug.org cafe forum. Power users on those forums might likely have max'd ram, and probably the people at Los Angeles' ProMax, monthly lafcpug meet sponsor, could answer your question- more than likely ernesto sanchez.

    http://leaders.creativecow.net/leaders/sanchez_ernesto/


    btw. 8GB modules are supposed to come out next year, the Dell workstations are configured to go that high...64GB ;). One of the mod's on lafcpug.org, I think is from one of those S. American countries, might be of some help too.
     
  5. FF_productions macrumors 68030

    FF_productions

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
    #5
    I'd just get the 16 gigs of ram for $630 from OWC.

    I doubt you'll need 32-64 gigs of ram, yet.

    I've purchased ram and hard drives from them, a perfect experience with them.
     
  6. pipep thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    #6
    butthead, i'll check out those links, thanks for ur input!

    ff_productions, i know i actually don't "need" the 32gbs yet, though i was thinking on gettin 16gbs on 4gb modules so later in time i can max out without losing sticks, but it's too expensive just now and for the time i need to upgrade they'll probably be much cheaper, so i''m going with 8x2gb for sure. It's good to know u have bought the $630 sticks, u have them already working? should i just don't worry about they're not "certified by netlist"?

    i'm planning buy them before new year's eve, and from owc told me it should take like 1-2 weeks to get here.

    thanks for ur response, any more opinions are welcome :)
     
  7. Blogger macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    Local
    #7
    I recently bought 8GB in 4 X 2GB sticks from OWC. Ran Rember for 48 hours. Since then there have been zero problems reported by system profiler/ memory, from lots of work.
    They are a pretty good company to deal with if you do have problems.
     
  8. trancepriest macrumors 6502

    trancepriest

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Location:
    South Florida
    #8
    I have 2x4GB sticks. Planning on getting another 2x4GB sticks. So far no problems... if i ever manage to get 32GB's will give a report.
     
  9. pipep thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    #9
    blogger. thx for ur comments on the subject, i'm pretty confident with owc as i have read a lot the same thing u say: if something goes wrong, they'll fix it... :) I was first going with crucial, but owc is much cheaper and have good reviews on their products specially in their after sale support, so, can't go wrong... i hope!

    trancepriest, u got those sticks from owc? any problems at all? the difference is that my mac pro is dual core, not the quad, might be different? i understand is the same motherboard only the processor is different... ??:confused:
     
  10. SDAVE macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #10
    I had 12 bad chips from Crucial. Went with OWC (4x2GB) from OWC, the first batch was perfect. Zero issues. Go for it!
     
  11. trancepriest macrumors 6502

    trancepriest

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Location:
    South Florida
    #11
    I got em from Crucial. No problems whatsoever. I'm not sure what the differences would be.
     
  12. Lone Deranger macrumors 65816

    Lone Deranger

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #12
    Yes it works. Just get some good sticks.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 32GB.jpg
      32GB.jpg
      File size:
      153.7 KB
      Views:
      279
  13. termina3 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Location:
    TX
    #13
    Judging by your dock there, it looks like Safari and iTunes are running pretty snappy, eh?

    /sarcasm
     
  14. JesterJJZ macrumors 68020

    JesterJJZ

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    #14
    I dunno, I hear iMovie can be a real memory hog. :rolleyes:
     
  15. solvs macrumors 603

    solvs

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    LaLaLand, CA
    #15
    I noticed when I went from 1 to 2, and even 2 to 4. But from 4 to 8, not much a difference. I don't know why I even bothered with 16GB, even with multiple audio/video editing and compositing apps running. But it's getting cheaper now, I'd say just go for it if Maxwell with actually use it, and you use all those apps together all the time. 32 will work. Get what you can afford as you can afford it. It'll be better than 2GB. Though by the time 32 becomes more viable, it might be cheaper even to get 16 now and 32 later.
     
  16. netnothing macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #16
    For those of you that purchased OWC RAM...which did you get:

    OWC Apple Qualified - with the same stock style heatsinks

    or

    OWC Mac Pro Certified - with the Netlist modules with the flat heatsinks

    I had the Netlist ones at one point, with the flat heatsinks (although I thought I ordered the others)...and I returned them with ECC errors.

    -Kevin
     
  17. Blogger macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    Local
    #17
    I got the Apple Qualified. The heatsink is the same design as the Apple RAM. The Netlist ones don't look as substantial to me, although by all reports they work Fine.
     
  18. ReanimationLP macrumors 68030

    ReanimationLP

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    On the moon.
    #18
    Maybe with XP and this amount of RAM I can run Crysis in Very High settings! :D
     

Share This Page