4GB RAM for MBP 2.33GHz??

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ~J~, Feb 13, 2008.

  1. ~J~ macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Location:
    3rd Rock from the sun
    #1
    First question - will my MBP recognize all 4 gigs? Looking at Corsair & Kingston, anyone have any experience with these 2 brands in their MBP?
     
  2. DarkHeraldMage macrumors 6502a

    DarkHeraldMage

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #2
    Go here and pull up the exact model you want. Shouldn't make a difference between 15" and 17" models of the 2.33 but as you can see you can get a 4 gig set for it. I have the 2.4 and run 4 gigs beautifully.

    As for brands, I got OWC and haven't had a problem yet. Enjoy!
     
  3. djinn macrumors 68000

    djinn

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    #3
    It will see the 4gig but will only use 3072MB cause of the chipset. I have 4gig in my 2.33ghz and it flies.
     
  4. hondje macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    South Bend, IN
    #4
    I have similar thoughts

    I have the same MBP and have first thought that perhaps I should sell it and get the new one when it comes out. Perhaps it is good to just upgrade RAM and HD space. I have too have wondered if this MBP will recognize 4GB.
     
  5. hondje macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    South Bend, IN
    #5
    Djinn, If the computer only recognizes 3GB, then why do 4?
     
  6. nikhsub1 macrumors 68000

    nikhsub1

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    mmmm... jessica.'s beer...
    #6
    Dual channel... If you put 1GB stick with a 2GB stick the memory won't run in dual channel.
     
  7. hondje macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    South Bend, IN
    #7
    Sorry for being such a newb. Can you help me understand this better?
     
  8. ntrigue macrumors 68040

    ntrigue

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    #8

    You will benefit from 4GB RAM under the matching pairs concept. Your speed will be 3.3GB.

    Read the guide on this site. I went crucial RAM.

    edit: Courtesy of Mac Rumors Intel RAM Guide
     
  9. crazzyeddie macrumors 68030

    crazzyeddie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #9
    Wait... how do you know which MBP he has? If he has a more recent one it will support the full 4GB...
     
  10. phungy macrumors 68020

    phungy

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Location:
    FL/NY/TX
    #10
    Thread title states 2.33.
     
  11. hondje macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    South Bend, IN
    #11
    I know it wasn't my thread, but I appreciate all the help. I understand now. Thanks.
     
  12. gotzero macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Location:
    Mid-Atlantic, US
    #12
    I have 4GB in my 2.33. 2x2GB sets are CHEAP! Why not fun the most RAM you can and get your memory running dual-channel! I also put in a 7200RPM and the thing flies.

    When 8GB in a laptop is available, affordable, and "necessary" I will likely upgrade. Until then my laptop flies!
     
  13. mfinocchiaro macrumors newbie

    mfinocchiaro

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    #13
    4 GB in the MBP 2.33 GHz

    I just did that upgrade using memory from 18004.com. Pretty cool but strange...the Mac boots and says it has 4 GB and initially, it seems that it seems about 3.3 GB of it. However, about 1/2 hour later, there is only 3 GB but I do feel a performance boost from the dual-channel stuff.
    Just can't justify forking out another 2-3k euros for a new laptop for just a gig as much as I'd like the headroom...
    I'm all for 8 GB laptops too :D
     
  14. ipo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    #14
  15. Jiddick ExRex macrumors 65816

    Jiddick ExRex

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Location:
    Roskilde, DK
    #15
    How the h... do you 'feel' the performance boost from the dual-channel unless you have tried running the MBP with only 3 GB RAM first?
    Chances are you only feel a performance boost from running 3 GB...
     
  16. nick9191 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Britain
    #16
    You'd be wasting your money since your computer only can use 3.25gb. Unless you meant upgrade to a new computer.
     
  17. mfinocchiaro macrumors newbie

    mfinocchiaro

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    #17
    I've been running w/ a 1 GB SO-DIMM and 2 GB SO-DIMM for quite a while and just bought a matching 2 GB SO-DIMM. So the improvement that I am seeing is the increased bandwidth from bus to memory due to the matching memory cards. Or at least it feels a bit faster. I figured $50 for a SO-DIMM for a little more performance was cheaper than $3000 for a new Santa Rosa MBP for 1 GB more memory even if I drool to think about the Peryn-based MBPs...
    Cheers,
    Fino
     

Share This Page