4Gb Ram is it worth?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by jota73, Oct 30, 2007.

  1. jota73 macrumors 6502

    jota73

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Location:
    South America
    #1
    I am about to order my 20" 2.4GHz iMac, and wanted to upgrade its RAM, I have read that having 4 GB RAM the total usable memory would be 3.3GB.

    In other words.

    Is it worth buying 2Dims of 2GB each to sum up 4GB when the usable would be 3GB or just buy 1 Dimm of 2g to sum up 3Gb, so that the total 3GB would be usable?

    My post is based on what I read here
     
  2. superleccy macrumors 6502a

    superleccy

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Location:
    That there big London
    #2
    I believe that the new 2.4GHz iMacs have the Santa Rosa chipset (that's what the article seems to say anyway). Therefore, the first point would apply, and your new iMac would be able to "recognise a full 4GB of RAM".

    SL
     
  3. caj macrumors member

    caj

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Location:
    Illinois, United States
  4. jota73 thread starter macrumors 6502

    jota73

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Location:
    South America
    #4

    R U totally sure?
     
  5. jota73 thread starter macrumors 6502

    jota73

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Location:
    South America
    #5

    not according to the text posted at Guides...in macrumors
     
  6. je1ani macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    #6
    You're confusing the old white iMac C2Ds with the new Aluminum C2Ds with SR chipsets
     
  7. superleccy macrumors 6502a

    superleccy

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Location:
    That there big London
    #7
    Yes. But don't sue me.
    Read it again.

    Consider also the following which I believe to be facts:
    • The Core 2 Duo 2.4GHz processors are Santa Rosa-only.
    • The previous generation of Core 2 Duo iMacs (non-Santa Rosa, maxed out at 2.33GHz) would only ship with a maximum of 3Gb RAM.
    Also, you get better performance if your DIMM modules are of equal size, becuase they work in dual-channel mode (or something).

    But again, don't sue me.

    SL
     
  8. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #8
    Yep, the Napa chipset had the hardware DMA reside within the 4GB memory, and Santa Rosa chipset tossed it outside that. So the al-iMac is the full 4GB of memory.

    Of course the max memory is awaiting the 4GB SO-DIMM test.
     

Share This Page