4gb ram on macbook (2009 refresh) problems?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by luzzerylavender, Feb 28, 2009.

  1. luzzerylavender macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    #1
    I've been searching around for a cheaper 3rd party upgrade to 4 gb ram on the macbook (early 2009) edition.

    And I've read that a lot of macbook owners who have 4gb ram installed have had crashes and such.

    Anyone know of this, or if the supposed problems have been fixed?
     
  2. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

    NewMacbookPlz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #2
    Just buy reputable RAM, and you'll be fine. The "issue" so to speak is just the macs being picky about the RAM being well made, partially because DDR3 is a new technology.

    Crucial, OCZ for a couple, will be fine. Also, a quick forum search should turn up what people here have posted about this issue in the very recent past.
     
  3. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
  4. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #4
    The white macbook early 2009 uses DDR2 ram, not DDR3. I think the problems were with the Unibody Macs and DDR3.
     
  5. OngL macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    #6
    Read that are many having issues with OWC's RAM. I just recently bought 2x2GB from MacSales.com and kept my finger crossed while stress-testing it.

    I ran memtest osx for 2 passes (an hour or so), techtool's ram test and use it for normal work for two days. It has no freeze or crashes so far.

    It has micron chip and labels and I understand there are comments that OWC may ship different brands. Guess this 'luck' stays on.
     
  6. foulmouthedleon macrumors regular

    foulmouthedleon

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Location:
    Annapolis, MD
    #7
    I bought 4gb of Kingston RAM off Amazon and put it in my white macbook (2009) and have had no troubles at all. I think maybe you got some bad RAM.
     
  7. GfulDedFan macrumors 65816

    GfulDedFan

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Indiana
    #8
    The OP might be referring to those that bought the incorrect memory pc-6400 (800 mhz) instead of pc-5300 (667 mhz). It seems that when a 4GB kit was installed using the pc-6400s, the user had big problems but when they put in one of the chips alone or in combination with their old RAM it worked. Most of those effected corrected their problem by purchasing the correct RAM. The same problems would still effect the newest 2009 2.0GHz nVidia MacBooks. -GDF
     
  8. bigphun73 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    #9
    I just got Crucial 4 GB kit. It has no problems.
     

Share This Page