4GB RAM under Vista 64-bit with BOOT CAMP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by YahonMaizosz, Jun 24, 2008.

1. YahonMaizosz macrumors regular

YahonMaizosz

Hi guys..

I am a university student majoring in Information System and is looking for a laptop. I had never see the need of owning a laptop before, however due to school and work requirement, I feel that I need to have my computer with me when I need it. Since the ONLY laptop design that I like in the market are only MACBOOK PRO and SONY VAIO, I figure that I should clear some questions before I actually made my purchase..

Both are equally amazing laptop, almost the same price (MACBOOK PRO is slightly more expensive). Price difference and design are not the issues here..

The issue here is that since I am an Information System major, I need to work with WINDOWS OS.. I heard that there are some issues with installing more than 2GB RAM to work in WINDOWS under BOOTCAMP.. Ofcourse, I am aware that I can't use more than 2GB RAM in OS unless it is a 64-bit.. What if I were to install 64-bit Vista Ultimate under boot camp, will the 4GB RAM work??

Honestly, if there is NO ISSUE about this at all, I might actually purchase the 17' MACBOOK PRO since I really loved it.. Otherwise, it will be the Sony Vaio..

Hope to hear some answers from you guys soon..

:)

2. winninganthem macrumors 6502a

winninganthem

Vista 64-bit will be able to access all 4gigs of your ram. :)

3. CWallace macrumors 603

CWallace

I have Vista 64 on my 15" MBP and all 4GB are available.

4. 88888888 macrumors 6502a

how much ram does the 32bit vista access? :confused:
    i read somewhere that said bootcamp only 32bit only.. hmm

5. jonnos macrumors regular

im using vista 64 on my mbp now works fine havent had any probs and reads all 4gb.

6. masse macrumors 6502a

masse

hijack.

is vista 64 with 4gb ram better for gaming than 32bit windows xp?

unhijack.

7. ZachPruckowski macrumors member