4gb slower than 2gb ram???

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by fisk73, Nov 8, 2008.

  1. fisk73 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #1
    I had 2gb ram from apple factory in my mbp. I did a geekbench test and this was the result:

    Memory Score 2539

    Read Sequential
    single-threaded scalar 3531
    4.32 GB/sec

    Write Sequential
    single-threaded scalar 2641
    1.81 GB/sec

    Stdlib Allocate
    single-threaded scalar 2575
    9.61 Mallocs/sec

    Stdlib Write
    single-threaded scalar 1878
    3.89 GB/sec

    Stdlib Copy
    single-threaded scalar 2072
    2.14 GB/sec


    Then I put in 4gb patriot ram from newegg. The memory score on geekbench is worse... What could this be from?? Here is the results:

    Memory Score 2432

    Read Sequential
    single-threaded scalar 3493
    4.28 GB/sec

    Write Sequential
    single-threaded scalar 2631
    1.80 GB/sec

    Stdlib Allocate
    single-threaded scalar 2062
    7.69 Mallocs/sec

    Stdlib Write
    single-threaded scalar 1882
    3.90 GB/sec

    Stdlib Copy
    single-threaded scalar 2095
    2.16 GB/sec
     
  2. The Flashing Fi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    #2
    Slower timings than that of the RAM that comes with the MBP.

    Seriously though. Do you really think it's going to matter?
     
  3. fisk73 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #3
    Even though it has a worse score through geekbench and slower timings than the factory ram will the 4gb be better over the 2gb?
     
  4. J the Ninja macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #4
    If you run any benchmark repeatedly, you will find the results aren't all that consistent. A deviation of a few % is expected.

    Second, speed and capacity of RAM are two totally different things, and are mostly unrelated. The test measures speed and throughput of the memory, not capacity, which is what you upgraded. Worse timings, as mentioned, mean slower RAM.
     
  5. fisk73 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
  6. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #6
    You probably made the same mistake I made, I used 667mhz ram when my bus speed was 800mhz.
     
  7. sammich macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #7
    Did you do those after a fresh restart?

    I guess there are also small differences between manufacturers too, not to mention that Apple Ram *could* be superior :apple:

    EDIT: looks like it did really badly on 'Stdlib Allocate' part of the test, maybe some research in that area might shed some light on your problem.
     
  8. fisk73 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #8
    Ya my ram is 667mhz... but by bus speed is 800mhz.. If I purchased 800mhz ram would it be very much of a difference over the 667mhz?
     
  9. Nipz macrumors 65816

    Nipz

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    Well it would preform as apple intended :)
     
  10. rychencop macrumors 65816

    rychencop

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    http://www.northaugusta.net/
    #10
    the factory memory was/is not 800Mhz. they all shipped with 667Mhz. and a quick search indicates you still can't find 800Mhz ram for notebooks all that easy.
     
  11. Nipz macrumors 65816

    Nipz

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    Thats weird! thought they would ship the ram at the same speed if you get me!
     

Share This Page