4K D300 Plead / Question

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Reality4711, Mar 25, 2015.

  1. Reality4711 macrumors 6502

    Reality4711

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Location:
    scotland
    #1
    I am really seeking is "Peace of Mind".

    Does anyone run One 4K, IPS, >24", 60Hz, RGB,SST [I think thats all];) display on a nMP with D300 GPUs without any glitches ??????

    I would be inordinately grateful to anyone who can respond definitively.

    Many thanks in nervous anticipation.:D:D
     
  2. mawyatt1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Location:
    Clearwater, Fl
    #2
    I have a 27" Thunderbolt Apple Display and Dell 27" P2715Q 4k Display on a nMP with D300 graphics. System report shows both displays under one D300 and Dell at 60Hz at full 4k resolution. I usually run at 2560 by 1440, same as Thunderbolt Display, because text is too tiny at full 4k resolution on 27" display for me. The Dell text & graphics look much better that the Thunrderbolt Display.

    Only issue is the Dell USB ports don't seem to be operating.
     
  3. Reality4711 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Reality4711

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Location:
    scotland
    #3
    MUCH Obliged !!

    MUCH Obliged.

    Is the usb problem a one off problem that you will return the screen for replacement or do you know it to be endemic?

    Thank You

    Sharkey
     
  4. matt.r macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    #4
    I have the same Dell display and the usb ports work great. Make sure the usb uplink cable that came with the monitor is connected to your computer.
     
  5. Reality4711 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Reality4711

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Location:
    scotland
    #5
    Beat me to it!

    That is the thing!

    If you don't connect the upped then you don't get down feed.. Simpeeeeeeeeels!

    Regards

    Sharkey
     
  6. bits macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2015
    #6
    I can confirm, I have it for a week: nMP D300, Dell P2715Q (REV A01 - second fixed version) and Eizo 27" - everything works fine. All cables from Dell and usb works well, no sleep/wake problems, no glitches.
     
  7. mawyatt1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Location:
    Clearwater, Fl
    #7

    Matt,

    That was it the USB cable. I had thought the Dell would work like the Thunderbolt Display with only the single Thunderbolt cable being required. The Diplayport evidently does not work the same even though it uses the same Thunderbolt port on the nMP.

    Thanks,

    Mike
     

Share This Page