Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

edtorious

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Aug 14, 2007
San Diego, California
I got the ASUS BW-16D1HT drive but what kind of software do I use to play the 4k discs? I tried Quicktime and VLC but getting an error message and could not play. Any advise or suggestions will be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

casperes1996

macrumors 604
Jan 26, 2014
Horsens, Denmark
For licensing reasons this isn't straightforward.

You can get VLC to play pretty much anything - I have no experience with 4k discs, but with regular blu-rays, it required a dynamic library and an encryption key map, and of course then it only supports the discs that there are decryption keys for in the database.

I am going to bet that there exists no free software that allows you to play 4k discs simply. The VLC trick I mentioned before, whilst not strictly speaking illegal, does bypass the licensing in a semi-hacky way. A commercial product would need to have a license to play the discs.

edtorious

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Aug 14, 2007
San Diego, California
For licensing reasons this isn't straightforward.

You can get VLC to play pretty much anything - I have no experience with 4k discs, but with regular blu-rays, it required a dynamic library and an encryption key map, and of course then it only supports the discs that there are decryption keys for in the database.

I am going to bet that there exists no free software that allows you to play 4k discs simply. The VLC trick I mentioned before, whilst not strictly speaking illegal, does bypass the licensing in a semi-hacky way. A commercial product would need to have a license to play the discs.

Thanks, how do I go about being able to play BD thru VLC?

casperes1996

macrumors 604
Jan 26, 2014
Horsens, Denmark
Thanks, how do I go about being able to play BD thru VLC?