4K Display for GTX 680 Mac Pro 2010

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Bluenote, Jun 9, 2015.

  1. Bluenote macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    #1
    Hi Guys,

    I'm looking to upgrade to a 4k display and would like everyones advice. Around 28-32-inches...
    What's the best bang for the bucks?

    Specs:
    Mac Pro 2010
    GTX 680 2 gb
    8core 2.4

    Thanks,
     
  2. Draeconis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #2
    680 doesn't support 4K, 7xx and up do.

    EDIT

    Looks like 680 might do actually, but it's lacking DisplayPort 1.3
     
  3. Bluenote thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    #3
    My understanding was that it could run 4096x2160 resolution via DisplayPort @ 60Hz.
    I'm I wrong in believing that these cards can run 4K at 60hz on the 5.1?
     
  4. Draeconis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #4
    Yeah you're right, it can, I was on about 5K for some reason.

    Samsung are usually good for monitors, SST are better than MST if I recall.
     
  5. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #5
    I was using a GTX 680 with a Dell P2715Q and everything worked fine. The image quality was a huge step forward from my old Dell 3007WFP-HC. I run the monitor at 3200x1800 resolution. Anything higher and I had to strain to see some stuff.
     
  6. Macsonic macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #6
    Hi Pastrychef. Are you running 3200x1800 at 60hz ? Are you using the DisplayPort to connect to your Mac Pro? The fonts are not difficult to read? Thanks
     
  7. Synchro3 macrumors 65816

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #7
    All existing cards are lacking DisplayPort 1.3. Even GTX 980 Ti.
     
  8. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #8
    Just be aware that KEPLER cards don't have boot screens on 4K SST and 5K. It is thus more like running an unflashed card.

    I have a GTX760 on its way back to me for exactly that reason right now.

    Only the newer Maxwell cards can do that little magic trick.
     
  9. Bluenote thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    #9
    Thanks for your reply. I've read that some people get lag on the Dell @ 30Hz 4K. Are you seeing anything like that? Are you happy with monitor? or is something like the Samsung worth the extra bucks?
     
  10. Bluenote thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    #10
    So Kepler cards can still display at 4K but without a boot screen even if the card is flashed?
     
  11. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #11
    Hello.

    Yes. I'm running at 3200x1800@60Hz via DisplayPort. I don't have a problem reading things at this resolution but everyone's eyes are different...
     
  12. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #12
    My flashed GTX 680 cards can display boot screen at 4K only on HDMI.

    When connected via DisplayPort, it doesn't show boot screen.
     
  13. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #13
    I have never used it at 30Hz. I have only used it at 60Hz. I have not noticed any lag.
     
  14. Macsonic macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #14
    Thanks for clarifying. I've been thinking about the 4K Dell monitor. I am using a Mac Edition 680 GTX card. Enjoy the week ahead. :)
     
  15. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #15
    Over HDMI, do you notice any ringing or edge effects along lines and borders? Not in video, but in the GUI or applications.
     
  16. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #16
    Other than to test whether or not HDMI gave me a boot screen, I have never used HDMI for any length of time. I will try it out a little later and report back.
     
  17. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #17
    I used the monitor via HDMI for about 45 minutes and didn't notice any ringing or edge effects. Everything looked as good as when using Display Port. However, there was a very noticeable lag with the mouse pointer which I'm assuming is due to the 30Hz limitation of HDMI.
     
  18. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #18
    Oh interesting. I ask because of this article that says 4K@60Hz is possible with Kepler, and people have confirmed with the GTX 680 specifically (there is color information lost in order to stay within the HDMI 1.4 bandwidth limitations). But I guess OS X itself is limiting 4K HDMI to 30Hz, so maybe that's a Windows option.
     
  19. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #19
    Wow. Interesting. Based on the linked article, it appears that version R340 of the driver is needed in Windows along with a display that uses "chroma subsampling".
     

Share This Page