Resolved 4K Display Issues w/ MBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by KingKazma, Apr 7, 2017.

  1. KingKazma macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2017
    #1
    Hello all,

    I have a late 2011 17" MacBook Pro. Ive owned it since August or September of 2011. It is quite a trooper. We've gotten through and out of many sticky situations together:D but now I have a problem that I haven't been able to figure a solution to.

    A little over 2 years ago I bought an LG 31MU97-B Cinema 4K Monitor to use with another computer(PC), that I ended up discarding. During the time I was using the monitor with said PC, I was never able to reach the max resolution on the monitor(which is advertised as 4096x2160)without some 3rd party software. It was shoddy but it worked for me then. Now that I don't use that PC anymore, I have only my trusty MBP. I was re-configuring my desk setup, and decided to use the LG monitor as my main display while the MBP is in clamshell, seemed simple enough. The way I have the LG monitor wired up is as follows: MBP--->Thunderbolt Pro Duo--->Thunderbolt Pro Duo--->LG monitor.
    Using Apple thunderbolt cables for the drives and a HDMI cable for the monitor, via a thunderbolt to HDMI converter all in a daisy chain configuration.

    I am having the same problem as before. I am not able to reach the max resolution, or anywhere close to it tbh. Display prefs only give me a maximum resolution of 1080p(with the option key pressed). I tried to use the same program that I did on the PC to force a resolution, but alas it is not available for OS X. I stumbled upon a program names SwitchResX which all mac users seem to love and looked like my way out. However, this didn't work for me unfortunately. I took it a step further and used Terminal to try and locate my display ID so I could edit the plist file. I was able to locate and edit the file, but to no avail. I can't figure this one out for the life of me:( I really need this to work though as I do occasionally video edit in 4K. Are there any suggestions?

    Thanks in advance,

    -KingK


    Here are some pics that I thought may be helpful:
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Sanpete macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2016
    Location:
    Utah
  3. KingKazma thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2017
    #3
    Aw man. My baby's obsolete after all :( Well she's done me good to get this far without any real issues. Thanks for the info, looks like a search for a new MBP may be in order.
     
  4. yukari macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #4
  5. jerryk macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #5
    Expensive way to fix the problem. I cannot see spending that sort of money on such an old system.
     
  6. yukari macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #6
    Actually, this will allow me to buy a cheaper MBP down the road (lower dGPU).
     
  7. hajime macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    #7
    Too bad my MBP 2010 17" cannot drive 4K display nor use eGPU.
     
  8. yukari macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #8
    Bought AORUS GeForce GTX 1070 Gaming Box eGPU ($599 NewEgg) which had all the necessary enclosure, PSU and GTX1070 GPU). Tried it with El Capitan OSX - for some reason it did not work.

    Upgraded to Sierra OSX (10.12.6) and voila! It worked without any problem.

    Set up: 2011 (late) 15" MBP, Apple thunderbolt (TB3 <--> TB1/2) adapter, AORUS GeForce GTX 1070 Gaming Box eGPU, and AOC 40" 4k curved monitor.

    Bonus is AORUS has USB-3 connectors. So I can get USB-3 speed on accessories instead of USB-2 speed on my MBP.
     
  9. hajime macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    #9
    Thanks. Have you tried it under Bootcamp Windows or Ubuntu Linux?
     
  10. yukari macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #10

Share This Page