4K display performance

Discussion in 'macOS Sierra (10.12)' started by ncrypt, Sep 20, 2016.

?

UI performance

  1. Better

    60.0%
  2. Worse

    20.0%
  3. Same

    20.0%
  1. ncrypt macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Mission control on El Capitan frequently stutters and lags when my mid-2014 15" MacBook Pro is connected to my 4K monitor and running at a scaled resolution.

    Has anyone noticed any UI or mission control performance changes with Sierra?
     
  2. mouthster macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    #2
    It's better for sure, but there aren't as many scaled HiDPI resolutions now. Previously I used to use 2560x1440, but that is no longer available.
     
  3. karsten macrumors 6502a

    karsten

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    #3
    why would they remove that one?
     
  4. irock101 macrumors 6502

    irock101

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    #4
    Performance is the same. Using the laptop in my sig with the Dell 4k monitor via Thunderbolt.
    All the resolutions are still the same too. See below:

    screen.png
     
  5. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #5
    Did you try holding "Option" and then click "scale"? That will gives you more resolution option.
     
  6. mouthster macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    #6
    Yes. The HiDPI version of 2560x1440 is not there. Only the low-res version. Others elsewhere have complained about it. I don't know why Apple would remove 2/3 scaling, but they did.
     
  7. kryten42 macrumors 6502

    kryten42

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    Location:
    In a little world of my own
    #7
    There for me:

    HiDPI 2560 4k.png

    That is Sierra release (16A323)
     
  8. mouthster, Sep 21, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2016

    mouthster macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    #8
    Interesting. I wonder if it's because I am on a 2014 rMBP with integrated graphics (no dedicated gpu), and they disabled certain scaling options because they are too taxing.

    * Never mind the above, another poster mentioned if you reboot with the monitor plugged in the resolution will be there. Sure enough that did the trick. You do have to have the laptop screen on for it to work, and if you close the laptop the resolution will disappear again.
     
  9. campyguy macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Location:
    Portland / Seattle
    #9
    On my main Dell P2715Q (I have 2) connected to my late-2013 15" rMBP w/ dGPU I have *more* hi-res options available in the Displays Pref Pane in landscape orientation using the Option key than I did in 10.10/11. I upgraded over 10.11. Performance on both Dells is great.

    FWIW, I had no issues with graphics performance on that Mac (or my 2012 Mini Server) on those Dell displays with 10.11.
     

Share This Page