4k display question! 30hz vs 60hz

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Hdub32, May 6, 2015.

  1. Hdub32 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    #1
    I'm planning on getting a 4k monitor and running it at 1080p pixel doubled (retina).

    If I'm running at this resolution, is 60hz still necessary? Would there still be mouse lag at 30hz?

    Any help would be appreciated
     
  2. bootz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    #2
    30 hz is unusable for productivity for long periods of time, regardless of the resolution.
     
  3. MCAsan macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #3
    Agreed. So first have a Mac that is ready for 4K @ 60, then purchase the monitor. If not, upgrade the Mac before getting the monitor.

    You might want to wait until WWDC next month to see what Apple says about when they will move to the Skylake series of processors and chipsets. Those will introduce TB3 which will support 5k over a single cable. That sets the stage for having a updated Thunderbolt Display doing 5k over TB3 with the new Skylake based Macs. It could also mean that Macs that can do 4k today at 60 could also do 4K at 60 via TB2 towards the new Apple Display. So Apple would have a market for such a monitor.

    I would love to replace my Thunderbolt display with one doing 4K via TB2.
     
  4. Hdub32 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    #4
    I just ordered the Acer B276HK 27in 4k monitor. Does 60hz so I'll see how it performs on my 2015 13in rMBP
     
  5. colodane macrumors 6502a

    colodane

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Location:
    Colorado
    #5
    I don't believe that the 13 inch rMBpro supports 4K @ 60 Hz.
     
  6. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #6
    The 2015 models do.
     

Share This Page