4K iMac upgrades?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by jfreed, Nov 3, 2016.

  1. jfreed macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Location:
    New York
    #1
    I was under the impression that I couldn't soup up my 4K iMac. However, it does seem possible. I want to swap out my 1tb hard drive to Solid State, but I don't know where to start. Is this something that Apple would do, or is it a DIY project? Any suggestions would be appreciated! Thanks.
     
  2. varian55zx macrumors 6502a

    varian55zx

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #2
    nothing you can do to make it good

    really though, go for the 5k 27 inch.

    I was just looking into last night how much the max spec 4k costs...-- Go for the top end 5K.
     
  3. jfreed thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Location:
    New York
    #3
    Hey. Maybe I was vague. Already own the 4K, I'm looking for options to expand it. Solid State, more RAM, etc. I'm having a bit of buyers remorse and am trying to alleviate it. So, do I have options, or am I screwed!? Thanks.
     
  4. varian55zx macrumors 6502a

    varian55zx

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #4
    Here's a suggestion, internal 512 SSD at the time of purchase! too late? Sorry!

    blame Apple not me
     
  5. jfreed thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Location:
    New York
    #6
    I just called Microcenter. There's a location a couple of towns over. (Convenient)! I've had pretty negative experiences upgrading my Macs on my own. They sell Crucial parts and everything seems reasonable. Hopefully I can turn this around. This is a great machine and has handled most of what I've thrown at it, but there are definite instances where it sadly chugs along. Especially with my Adobe apps. It's essential for me to work in Photoshop and Illustrator all day, and if I throw Indesign into the mix, it becomes readily apparent that this is an under-specced machine. Fortunately, it looks as if for a couple of hundred bucks, I can fix this up. Thanks!
     

Share This Page