4K on HDMI or Thunderbolt?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by SamTheeGeek, Oct 23, 2013.

  1. SamTheeGeek macrumors 6502

    SamTheeGeek

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #1
    Hello,

    I would like to ask what would work well with my Sony 4K display, HDMI UltraHD or Thunderbolt 2 connection?
     
  2. jamesjingyi macrumors 6502a

    jamesjingyi

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    TB 2 is the only option if looking to an Apple Machine as they only have these, not UltraHDMI yet.

    I don't know whether Sony's displays have this or not...
     
  3. SamTheeGeek thread starter macrumors 6502

    SamTheeGeek

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #3
    There is no thunderbolt connection on my display its a 65" 4k but yes in the apple website they stated HDMI UltraHD
     
  4. jamesjingyi macrumors 6502a

    jamesjingyi

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    What? The new machines have UltraHD HDMI? Otherwise you could get a converter...
     
  5. drmyfore macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    #5
    http://store.apple.com/us/buy-mac/mac-pro

    According to Tech Specs, you can find there is one HDMI 1.4 UltraHD in the list of Connections and Expansion.Although Thunderbolt(DisplayPort) can output 4K.
     
  6. SamTheeGeek thread starter macrumors 6502

    SamTheeGeek

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #6
    Yep the new Mac Pro does support HDMI UltraHD
     
  7. drmyfore macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    #7
    Hi!

    http://store.apple.com/us/buy-mac/mac-pro

    According to Tech Specs, you can find there is one HDMI 1.4 UltraHD in the list of Connections and Expansion.Although Thunderbolt(DisplayPort) can output 4K.
     
  8. SamTheeGeek thread starter macrumors 6502

    SamTheeGeek

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #8
    So the Ultra HD HDMI can output 4K aswell?
     
  9. drmyfore macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    #9
    Yes, HDMI 1.4 can support 4K output.
     
  10. SamTheeGeek thread starter macrumors 6502

    SamTheeGeek

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #10
    thats great, i just hope that it will run smoothly.

    I remember my Alienware X51 was laggy on 4K, it was on HDMI connection the video card was Nvidia GTX 660, 3.4 GHz Core i7-3770, RAM 8 GB DDR3 , Graphics Coprocessor NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660
     
  11. drmyfore macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    #11
    Emm, perhaps the version of the HDMI connector in GTX660 is 1.3? Although I think you'd better check the connection line version...

    By the way, only HDMI ver 1.4 support 4K * 2K(3840×2160p@24 Hz/25 Hz/30 Hz or 4096×2160p@24 Hz, according http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HDMI)
     
  12. SamTheeGeek thread starter macrumors 6502

    SamTheeGeek

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #12
    yea maybe, to be honest i sold my Alienware, i couldn't stand windows 8. Mac OSX is the way to go for me, i can't wait for the new Mac Pro, i wanna go for the 2999 model do you think its more than enough for final cut pro x 1080p videos and watching 4k movies?
     
  13. drmyfore, Oct 23, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2013

    drmyfore macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    #13
    Sorry, I don't know. But I Think the information below may help you.

    http://www.apple.com/mac-pro/performance/

    ATTENTION: The data is based on the TOP configuration which have Xeon 12cores(the price of the CPU is 2600 USD), Dual FirePro D700 and 1TB SSD(you must know the 2999 Model only have Xeon E5-1620v2, price 300 USD, only for the CPU YOU MUST OFFER ANOTHER 2300 USD, say nothing for Graphic Cards and Storage)
     
  14. SamTheeGeek thread starter macrumors 6502

    SamTheeGeek

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #14
    Thanks for the info :) i will be running only one 4k display
     

Share This Page