4K photo editing

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by MCAsan, Sep 5, 2015.

  1. MCAsan macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #1
    For those who have purchased 4K monitors: what size unit did you get (32, 27/28, 24..etc.), what resolution do you use when running your editing software (4k, 4k Retinia/HiDPI, 2K...etc.), do you change the resolution or scaling as you move from photo editing to something like a web browser or text editor to improve the readability of the text?
     
  2. Alexander B. macrumors member

    Alexander B.

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Location:
    Moscow
    #2
    Isn't this handled by Mac OS already? I mean all apps that properly support retina displays are already operate in points not pixels, so no manual resolution setup is required.
     
  3. MCAsan thread starter macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #3
    The question is not about MACs scaling ability. That swell known. It is about the usability of the differ scaling for different apps. Using LR I might accept tiny text in order to see more details in a photo. But running a browser or text editor I may want larger text and don't have large graphic objects. So different scaling may be optimum depending on the may app being used.

    I guess I will find out for myself next week. A used Dell UP2414Q should arrive then. It will give the wife and me a better idea if we want to swap our ATD units for Dell P2715Q units. Nothing beats first hand experience with the various apps.
     
  4. acearchie macrumors 68040

    acearchie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    #4
    I think you have misinterpreted how retina works. The resolution stays the same it just makes various parts of the UI bigger so there are perceived to be viewed as retina (without discernable pixels).

    The items take up the same space as previous low res screens but with an increased level of detail.

    [​IMG]
     
  5. MCAsan, Sep 15, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2015

    MCAsan thread starter macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #5
    Got my Dell UP2415Q today. Sweet. I am using it so far in full 4k resolution at 30Hz and not scaling. I have not yet calibrated it. May do that tomorrow if I get the chance.
     
  6. MCAsan thread starter macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #6
    Cleaned off the desk and disconnected my ATD. :eek:

    Connected the UP2414Q with a mDP to DP cable from Frys (used monitor did not come with the cable). So 4 cables to my 2013 15" rMBP: power, TB to my LaCie drives, mDP to the Dell monitor, USB to the USB-A hub port on the monitor. To the monitor's USB ports I connected my keyboard (never liked Bluetooth ones), US Robotics fax/modem, and JBL Pebbles speakers.

    When I booted up...every thing worked! The default for the DP ports on the monitor is DP1.1. So I changed that on the monitor to DP 1.2 for 4k at 60Hz. Worked like a champ!!!!

    I have the monitor at full 4K mode and love the crisp black text on the white web pages. IMHO, no need to scale to 1.25 or 1.5. I guess my face is around 2 feet from the screen. From what I can see, the one app that needs serious scaling of its text is Lightroom. 4K is great for editing images. But the text in the modules is far too small even with Preference adjustments.

    So far one of the best $350 expenditures I have done in computing...in a long time. :D
     

Share This Page