4K video problems in FCPX

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by CleanFeed, Mar 16, 2017.

1. CleanFeed macrumors member

CleanFeed

I'm trying to edit 4k video in FCP but I'm running into a number of problems. Sadly, I'm sure, a lot of it stems from my lack of knowledge and inexperience as I'm very new to this, any help would be hugely appreciated.

The video is from a 'Wolf Action 4K UltraHD' camera. Here are the file details (taken from VLC):
    • Codec: H264 - MPEG-4 AVC (part10) (avc1)
    • Resolution: 3840x2178
    • Display Resolution: 3840x2160
    • Frame Rate: 30
    • Decoded Format: Planar 4:2:0 YUV
    • Audio Codec: MPEG AAC Audio (mp4a)
    • Sample Rate: 16000 Hz
    So the problem I'm experiencing; the video plays perfectly in VLC and Quicktime but when I import the video directly into FCP it firstly appears as if through a red filter and also flickers (at first I thought the flickering was because the video is taken from inside an aeroplane cockpit and was from the propeller but it doesn't flicker in VLC or Quicktime). If I then change the 'Colour Space Override' to any of the options except 'off' this fixes the red issue but the flickering still persists.

Through experimentation I've found that if I transcode the video in FCP to 'Apple ProRes' the flickering stops BUT the red issue returns and I have to change 'Colour Space Override' to 'rec. 601 (NTSC) to get the correct colour but by doing this the flickering returns.

Also if I try to then share to a Master File I get a 'failed error message'.

I've tried transcoding in Compressor but it just hangs on 'processing' and doesn't do anything.

This is driving me crazy now, I can't understand why the video plays faultlessly in VLC and Quicktime yet I'm having so much trouble in FCPX and Compressor.

If it helps my system is: 15" MacBook Pro (Touchbar), 2.6 GHz Intel Core i7, 16GB RAM, Radeon Pro 460 GPU.

Any help at all would be really appreciated, thanks!!

2. ColdCase macrumors 68030