4th Gen iPod won't finish restore

Discussion in 'iPod' started by byfbo, May 7, 2008.

  1. byfbo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    #1
    I've installed a new hard drive in a 4th gen iPod. It was a 20g that died, so i replaced it with a 60g. Everything worked out like it should, went to restore the iPod, and it went to the "plug your ipod into wall charger" routine to finish restore. I did so and nothing is happening. I've rebooted the ipod numerous times, and it always goes to the wall charger icon. Sometimes its the battery charge icon but it doesnt animate. So basically I can't finish the restore on a brand new hard drive and am very frustrated. Please help.
     
  2. darintownaz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #2
    Same Problem

    I am having the exact same problem. Did you ever get anywhere with it? I've replaced the guts of mine just recently too, not sure what could be the trouble. Software related I'm hoping...
     
  3. Grimslay macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    #3
    Answer?

    Did you ever get an answer to your questions? How did you ultimately fix your iPod? This is exactly what is happening to mine now! :confused:
     
  4. iParis macrumors 68040

    iParis

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #4
    I have the answer

    The same exact thing has happened to me with my 20GB.
    What I recommend you do is take it into Apple.
    I don't know how they fixed it, all they did was plug it into a MacBook Pro.
    It may be because the iPod was formatted for PC and then it might have thought the MacBook Pro was some super uber powered external power source.
    All in all they fixed it, for free, and in less than a few minutes.
     
  5. Grimslay macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    #5
    "Take it into Apple" Are there Mac stores or where exactly did you take your's to get it fixed? There are Circuit City, Radio Shack and At&t in my area. Would these places be able to help me? Or where would you recommend that I take it to have it fixed? Thanks in advance! :)
     
  6. iParis macrumors 68040

    iParis

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #6
    Like... take it into the Apple Store. XD
    I think that Circuit City might be able to help you although, if you have a Best Buy an your area you should go there.

    Or (this is just a trial thing and I don't know if it'll work), plug it into the opposite operating system it is formatted for.
    Example, if it's for matted for OSX plug it into a Windows.
    If it's formatted for Windows plug it into an OSX.
     
  7. Grimslay macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    #7
    I'm sorry if I seemed like an idiot for never seeing an Apple Store anywhere. :eek: Some of us aren't blessed with having everything around us. :( Guess I will have to figure out if I know someone with a Mac.
     
  8. cherry su macrumors 65816

    cherry su

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008

Share This Page