5.1 b3: Siri relationship failure

Discussion in 'iOS 5 and earlier' started by f00f, Jan 11, 2012.

  1. f00f macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Location:
    New Yawk
    #1
    In beta 3 Siri no longer has a handle on who my wife, manager or mother are. Any time I ask "Who is my <wife|manager|mother>" (which is supposed to display the associated contact card) or attempt a "Send a message to my <wife|manager|mother>" Siri replies with "Uh oh, something's wrong. Can you try again?" or similar. If I instead use the contact's name, rather than the relationship, all works as expected.

    Can someone with beta 3 confirm this behavior? My wife's phone on the current public release is fine.

    Oh and my phone just spontaneously rebooted itself. I think Siri is becoming self-aware... :eek::eek:
     
  2. Macky Mac, Jan 11, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2012

    Macky Mac macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    #2
    I can confirm that bug. I already rolled back to previous version. Beta 3 has way too many bugs....:(

    My log had hundreds of entries just sitting overnight.... Hoping for a much better Beta 4??
     
  3. DankNugz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
  4. f00f thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Location:
    New Yawk
    #4
    Thanks for confirming guys. Here's looking to beta 4!
     
  5. jimthing macrumors 6502a

    jimthing

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK
    #5
    I presume all you dev guys use a separate device for your beta testing; oui/non?

    (Otherwise how do you mitigate against losing your own data with any bad beta that comes along... ?).

    Just wondered how you handled this stuff on non-emulation, actual physical, devices?
     
  6. Dhelsdon macrumors 65816

    Dhelsdon

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Location:
    Canadian Eh!
    #6
    I was wondering the same, then again I've seen a developers office he had about 10 iPhones on nice stands all spread across his desk. Wish I had that kinda dough...
     
  7. DankNugz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    #7
    Apple recommends that all developers install the betas on an iDevice thats meant for development only, however lots of developers just install it on their main iDevice. The bigger development companies and studios usually have many iDevices that are for development purposes only. Smaller companies and single person developers tend to only have one or two devices and cant afford to have iDevices for development only.
     
  8. f00f thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Location:
    New Yawk
    #8
    Folks with a deep iOS dev budget will have iDevices for development only.

    Those without the budget will make do with what they have, which might only be their "main" device. I'm in this boat because iOS is more of a hobby for me (I just recently got an AR.Drone, for example, that I'd love to write some code for).

    If we get a bad beta that eats my data alive, well, at least I have Time Machine. ;)
     
  9. WordMasterRice macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    #9
    This, I develop in my free time and have never had a pay app so it isn't like I have a stream of money coming in to support many iOS devices. And don't get me started on supporting older firmware then Apple prevents you from downgrading. Am I suppose to own a device with every firmware since iOS 3 and never update them?
     
  10. bgtrack macrumors regular

    bgtrack

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Location:
    East Lansing
    #10
    I too can say that this has happened since updating to b3, but didn't have this issue on the first or second beta.
     

Share This Page