5,1 (flashed) restarts after sleep in high sierra

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Letstryit, Jan 10, 2018.

  1. Letstryit macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    #1
    Hi all,

    I’ve just updated from el capitain to high Sierra. All generally seems well except a serious issue - when I try and wake from sleep I think I’m getting a kernel panic, and my Mac restarts with a warning that it was shut down because of a serious error.

    I have a Mac Pro 5,1 (flashed late 2009) and a Maxwell Titan X, everything else unplugged.

    It seems similar but not specifically the same as other reports with high Sierra having sleep issues in the longer thread on the front page, so I thought I’d start a new topic in case.

    If it comes to it I’ll roll my time machine back to el capitain, I’m worried the firmware update has something to do with it though...

    Any ideas? Thanks in advance!
     
  2. bsbeamer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #2
    Do you have a screensaver setup? Try disabling and see if that helps or fixes the issue.
     
  3. Letstryit thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    #3
    No, I don’t - I have my computer set not to sleep until I tell it as well, and it’s the action of pressing sleep and then trying to wake it up that makes it restart - after a couple of seconds I hear the fans tick over and sure enough it’s a hard restart...
     
  4. Darmok N Jalad macrumors 6502a

    Darmok N Jalad

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    Location:
    Tanagra
    #4
    I also have the same kind of cMP, but I haven't had that kind of issue with sleep. For me, mine occasionally won't go to sleep, but it wakes just fine. Do you still have the original video card to test and eliminate the Titan X?
     
  5. Letstryit thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    #5
    I do, yes - I’ll have to give that a go tomorrow. Thanks for the tip!
     
  6. Darmok N Jalad macrumors 6502a

    Darmok N Jalad

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    Location:
    Tanagra
    #6
    I guess another question would be is if you had any programs running before sleep. For me, I believe that my sleep issues only happened when Lightroom was open--haven't managed to figure out if it's just a coincidence yet.
     
  7. Letstryit thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    #7
    This happens after a fresh restart, and I’ve gotten rid of everything that launches on startup even helpers too...
     
  8. Letstryit thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    #8
    Right finally got around to taking a run at this.

    i did a bunch of stuff, including testing a Radeon 5770, resetting nvram, reconfiguring the up2715k monitor...

    From what I can tell it is something to do with the up2715k in 5k mode that kills things. If I don’t switch the monitor off and on again after boot, which makes osx see it as a mst monitor rather than two separate displays, sleep is okay. If I do, even if I set the monitor to a low res display mode, I get a crash trying to wake from sleep.

    Anyone got any ideas before I roll back to el capitain and hope for the best?!
     
  9. Darmok N Jalad macrumors 6502a

    Darmok N Jalad

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    Location:
    Tanagra
    #9
    Just from a quick search it does appear there's an issue with 5K output on Macs, even the 5K iMacs. I didn't see much of a solution, it almost sounds like Apple needs to do some work here. If I recall right, 5K is harder to drive on current display standards.

    Some did claim that Sierra 10.12.6 does a little better.
     
  10. Letstryit thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    #10
    Thanks again for replying. It was fine in el capitain, and I’ve just realised that I’m now not 100% sure it’s the res that’s doing it - previously I was on a 100% fail rate after trying to wake, and it’s just successfully woken up a couple of times before failing again. The successes were after the supplemental patch, initially I thought that had fixed it.

    I’m going to give it til the end of tomorrow and then give up and go back to el capitain via time machine, I think. I’m starting to almost wish I’d made a hackintosh, I didn’t quite think there’d be this much bother with a Mac Pro and pseudo supported graphics card - could have gotten more power for my money if I’d known I was going to have to faff around like this!
     
  11. Darmok N Jalad macrumors 6502a

    Darmok N Jalad

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    Location:
    Tanagra
    #11
    I don't know if you'd be much more successful with a Hackintosh on this one (especially since sleep is often the hardest thing to get working on such machines). It sounds like more work is needed at the software level on Apple's part.
     
  12. Letstryit thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    #12
    Ah that’s reassuring, at least. I’m just a bit frustrated, I knew buying the Mac Pro would have a shelf life but was hoping I would be able to avoid messing about too much. Looks like for whatever reason el capitain might end up being my time bomb, I still have a very powerful Mac for a fraction of a new Mac price so I’m chuffed there, a couple more years of use - hopefully - and it will have definitely been worth it.
    --- Post Merged, Jan 13, 2018 ---
    Ah that’s reassuring, at least. I’m just a bit frustrated, I knew buying the Mac Pro would have a shelf life but was hoping I would be able to avoid messing about too much. Looks like for whatever reason el capitain might end up being my time bomb, I still have a very powerful Mac for a fraction of a new Mac price so I’m chuffed there, a couple more years of use - hopefully - and it will have definitely been worth it.
     
  13. Letstryit thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    #13
    Right I’m 99% sure I’ve got this figured out now. The issue, at least. The required kext string to enable 5k on the Titan x is what is causing the kernel panic on wake. If I remove it, I can sleep/wake properly. Obviously, though, I don’t get 5k.

    Now I’m wondering whether it’s high Sierra or some subtle difference in how the nvram arguments were set up in my el capitain install. Testing different things, a little blindly admittedly...
     
  14. Letstryit thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    #14
    Yes, it was definitely high Sierra having a problem with the nv_spanmodepolicy=1 boot arg. Rolled back to my el capitain time machine backup and all’s well.

    Strange. Thanks for suggestions people.
     

Share This Page