5,1 poss older model?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by djjaes, Jan 24, 2015.

  1. djjaes macrumors member

    djjaes

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Location:
    US South
    #1
    Hello, I have a Mac Pro 5,1 (2.8 quad) and was curious (since I bought it used) if there is any what to know if it was an older model that was upgraded?

    Any suggestions would be appreciated?
     
  2. mikeboss macrumors 65816

    mikeboss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Location:
    switzerland
    #2
    check the serial # at http://selfsolve.apple.com
    or
    check the SMC version. MacPro4,1 has SMC version 1.39f5, even if it's upgraded to MacPro5,1 EFI ROM.

    2.8 GHz QC wasn't available in the MacPro4,1 from the factory.
     
  3. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #3
    The best way to check is serial number. However an easy way (but not 100% reliable) is to check this 2 numbers.

    Screen Shot 2015-01-25 at 01.28.52.png Screen Shot 2015-01-25 at 01.28.45.png
     
  4. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #4
    The only Quad 2.8GHz offered by Apple were the 2008 (3,1) and the 2010 (5,1). So it appears that you have a genuine 5,1 and not an updated machine. But, as has been suggested, check "About This Mac" and the first hardware line should read "Mac Pro (Mid 2010)". In addition check the serial number with an online site.

    Lou
     
  5. djjaes thread starter macrumors member

    djjaes

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Location:
    US South
    #5
    Thanks guys, you all are the best.

    I will check.

    The SMC Version says 1.39f11 and SMC Version Processor tray 1.39f11.

    I will confirm the serial number as well.
     
  6. mikeboss macrumors 65816

    mikeboss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Location:
    switzerland
    #6
    SMC 1.39f11 is definitely a MacPro5,1. there's still no known way to edit/reflash this.
     
  7. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #7
    In fact, FakeSMC can change that number.
     
  8. mikeboss macrumors 65816

    mikeboss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Location:
    switzerland
    #8
    uhm, it can trick OS X into "thinking" that the SMC version is a different one but it can't edit the values in the SMC Flash ROM. or can it?
     
  9. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #9
    It won't flash the chip, but will show the FakeSMC version number (editable) at system info.
     
  10. djjaes thread starter macrumors member

    djjaes

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Location:
    US South
    #10
    I checked my serial number, same as the one in the "About this Mac" and on the case. Apple says it is Mid-2010. I am relieved, as I am preparing to upgrade the 2.8 quad to a single hex.
     
  11. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #11
    ^^^^Just as we all figured. Good Luck on the Upgrade!

    Lou
     
  12. djjaes thread starter macrumors member

    djjaes

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Location:
    US South
    #12
    Thanks guys for steering me in the right direction.
     

Share This Page