5.1 Sound from a MBP?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by pearce, Dec 24, 2010.

1. pearce macrumors newbie

I figure I should set out by explaining the hardware,
    2010 model MBP (13") bought August 2010
    Potential Speakers : Logitech X-540 (Amazon UK link)

What I'd like to do is set this up so I can have high quality, bassy sound from the speakers, from my MacBook - from iTunes mainly but then also FrontRow / film player (if anyone has any recommendations on those that can output 5.1 I'd appreciate).

The speakers have a 3-pin stereo RCA input and I understand that my MBP has something called a mini-toslink (which doesn't mean a huge amount to me). I realise one is digital and one analogue so a direct port isn't about to happen, but is there anything I can (cheaply - i'm a student) do to hook these up? I've not purchased the speakers yet; so if there's something better for the job I'm all open.

Also worth noting - if it's not possible to get full SS from these, but I can still enjoy good, high quality music, I'm up for that too.

Thankyou :-D

2. mfram macrumors 65816

Quality speakers are expensive. There's just no way around it. Given the pictures of the X-540 system, I'd say the quality will be OK. But it certainly won't be awesome. Nor will it give you full true surround sound from your Mac playing movies. The X540 system in the picture does not contain a digital decoder that can take an optical input.