5,1 wifi problems on High Sierra

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by pertusis1, Apr 21, 2018.

  1. pertusis1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Location:
    Texas
    #1
    Before I start replacing parts in my computer to try to fix this, I wanted to check to see if this problem is more widespread. Basically, the wifi on my 5,1 doesn't work after the computer goes to sleep. If I turn wifi off, then back on... it works normally again. Otherwise, the computer has been and remains rock-solid. I know others have had graphics card issues with NVIDIA after sleep, but I can't find anything written about this issue.

    Is anyone else having this happen? Any solutions? I don't mind grabbing another wifi card, but I'm not sure that will fix the problem. I'm not really looking for an upgrade - just to have it work properly again.

    My setup is as follows:
    10.13.4, 5,1 (native), 2*3.46 6 Core, 48 GB DDR3 (8*6), AMD Radeon HD 7970 3GB (MVC), wifi card is Airport extreme (stock card shipped with computer).
     
  2. MIKX macrumors 6502a

    MIKX

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Location:
    Japan
    #2
    Probably, seeing that you are using High Sierra .. . Bluetooth protocols have changed. I recall reading that cMP standard Bluetooth modules are no longer supported in High Sierra ( correct me if I'm wrong ).
    Personally I use a BT 4.0 external module ( 1 metre cable ) due to the fact that I have 2 PCIe USB 3.1 cards running - to beat the interference problem. Works very well.
     
  3. bsbeamer macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #3
    worth mentioning: there have been WiFi sleep issues with other older Macs and this issue MIGHT not be isolated to your Mac Pro.

    Does changing WiFi connection to another network and then changing back allow you to reconnect after sleep?
     
  4. pertusis1 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Location:
    Texas
    #4
    I can either do that, or just turn wifi on and off. It takes me about 10 seconds, but it's still a hassle. It doesn't sound like this is a widespread issue, though, judging by the muted response here.
     
  5. bsbeamer macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #5
    Have run into it on a few MacBooks using AirPort routers. Have not run into it using other routers yet. Any chance you have an AirPort or AirPort Extreme router?
     
  6. fastlanephil macrumors 65816

    fastlanephil

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    #6
    I’m still on Sierra but I have tested High Sierra with my 2009 5,1 and the BT module that came with it(probably original) from a seller of eBay did function. I have a very large external antenna hooked to it. I’m wired to my router and I can’t remember if I tested the wifi. I also have a Gmyle BT 4.0 dongle and Apple’s BT Explorere if it’s needed.
     
  7. pertusis1 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Location:
    Texas
    #7
    I do use an AirPort Extreme. Anyone else using this combination?
     
  8. HDFan macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #8
    Tried on my 12 cpu 2.66 5870 mid 2010 which I had just wiped and installed High Sierra in preparation for sale. Coming out of sleep I see the WiFi icon re-establishing the connection. No problems.
     
  9. bsbeamer macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #9
    A lot of Mac Pro 4,1 & 5,1 users are hardwired via ethernet ports 1 & 2 in addition to WiFi (if available). Unsure if this helps re-establish a connection to WiFi more automatically, or if those setups just don't notice it because of the hard-wired connection taking over if WiFi drops out.

    I have not noticed this issue with my MacPro 5,1 when connected at home office using AirPort Extreme 7.6.9 with USB hard drive connected to AirPort for TimeMachine backups. However, this 5,1 machine rarely sleeps. Have noticed it with several different older MBPs connected to this AirPort router in the past 4-6 months that sleep when lid is shut. Opening the lid, logging back in, and internet is unavailable. Usually change network 2.4GHz > 5GHz (or reverse) and connection is fine. These same machines connected to another router (non-Apple) do not have the same issues re-establishing a connection.
     
  10. pertusis1 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Location:
    Texas
    #10
    Just for kicks, I’m going to get a new wifi card and see if it fixes the problem. Will post later.
     
  11. Squuiid macrumors 65816

    Squuiid

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #11
  12. whyrichard macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    #12

    would that card be a plug and play? I have an '09 mac pro flashed and am running into more and more wifi problems...

    also, how would this card work with my bootcamp installation? Would i need new drivers?? and where to find these drivers?

    thanks,
    r
     
  13. h9826790, Jun 11, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2018

    h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #13
    I have a similar card. But should be the same situation.

    Yes, it’s plug and play. However, except Yosemite, if you want Handoff or watch unlock working on the cMP, you need CAT (Continuity Activation Tool).

    No driver is required in MacOS.

    Windows need new driver.

    Wifi ac driver will be download and installed by the Apple software update apps.

    BT 4.2 driver is in the Mac Pro 6,1’s bootcamp driver package.
     

Share This Page