5+ Fusion VMs on 2008 Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by 330toSRT8, Feb 28, 2008.

  1. 330toSRT8 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    #1
    Hi, I want to replace my outdated PC with a new Mac Pro 8-core, but I need to ensure it'll meet my needs with VMWare Fusion. I need to run at least the following VMs:
    Win XP SP2 - 1 GB RAM
    Server 2003 SP2 - 2 GB RAM
    Linux Mint 4 (Ubuntu-based) - 1 GB RAM
    Ubuntu Server - 512 MB RAM
    Vista - 2 GB RAM

    I would assume that as long as I have at least 10 GB of RAM there should be no problem with that setup. Has anyone used several VMs in Fusion? VMWare Server seems to easily handle multiple VMs. Hopefully Fusion is just as good. Unity is definitely a plus.
     
  2. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #2
    Should be fine. As you say, you just need to make sure you load it with RAM.
     
  3. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
    #3
    as I counted, 1+2+1+.5+2=6.5 so I would think you could get by with 8gigs of RAM.. but of course more is better in this case.

    And VMware'll handle it like the champ that it is. But this is coming from someone who's only ever used 2 MV's at once.. with 1.5gigs of ram.
     

Share This Page