5 Questions about Mac safety. Help me please!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Prohybe, Dec 26, 2011.

1. Prohybe macrumors member

Hey i'm new in Apple world and have some questions that hope you guys can help me with.
    1) When i was calibrating the battery and when the battery got to low, i selected system preferences, and some apps didn't open, they stayed at the "loading" mode. Is that because the battery was too low or is some problem with my computer?
    2) I heard rummors about youtube not working on mac, if i install Adobe Flash Player will work right?
    3) Some people tell me i don't need to use anti-virus but i wanna use one.. What's the best one?
    4) Is it ok to download megaupload files and watch them on realplayer mac version?
    5) I have some files from my HP computer like music and videos, can i pass them and watch them on mac with no problems?

Thanks and sorry for the trouble. My mainc oncern is with number 1), because i don't know if my computer is not working well.

2. simsaladimbamba

1. Computer probably.

2. Yes, installing Flash will let you watch YouTube ****.

3. Not Sophos, maybe ClamXAV, but it is not needed.
    There are currently no viruses for Mac OS X in public circulation, only a handful of trojans and other malware, which have to be installed manually via entering the administrator password.
    The only anti-virus you need to protect your Mac is education and common sense.
    Also know, that the term "virus" is often used to refer to other kinds of malware, but there are differences, which you can find out by reading the following:

Mac Virus/Malware Info by GGJstudios

4. Probably. Videos don't contain malware affecting Mac OS X.

5. Most definitely, you may have to use VLC Player to watch some videos though.

3. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios