50-60% System Use?!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by MacOCD, Apr 29, 2009.

  1. MacOCD macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    #1
    I have a MacBook, using iMac atm but my MacBook is running 50-60% system, 0.5-1.5 user, and i do not know why its using so much of my CPU... No programs are running except Activity Monitor... So I'm not sure whats going on, i have all the latest Airport, firmware and all that...

    Any help? Many thanks :]
     
  2. ViciousShadow21 macrumors 68020

    ViciousShadow21

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    To your left or right
    #2
    do you have iStat? i will tell you what is taking up all the CPU power. also what does activities monitor show is happening.
     
  3. MacOCD thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    #3
    I have iStat on my iMac, but not on the MacBook.

    I just reset the computer so it will take 5 minutes to reboot... another symptom of the CPU usage =\ I'll have the processes soon.

    And Activity Monitor is basically iStat, it is what iStat uses to get the information... but the thing is there is no reason why it should be using this much of the CPU...
     
  4. MacOCD thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    #4

    Okay i have iStat up and no process should be taking up this much CPU... my user is running at 1%...
     
  5. ViciousShadow21 macrumors 68020

    ViciousShadow21

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    To your left or right
    #5
    do you have Onyx? try using that to clear some permissions and logs.
     
  6. MacOCD thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    #6
    Did some cleanup and it didn't do anything still 50-60% use, and just as slow reboot
     
  7. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #7
    what is the name of the process that is using up the CPU? (check in activity monitor)
     
  8. MacOCD thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    #8
    None, they're all using 400-600kb and 2mb tops for Air port... nothing huge, this is why I'm confused

    Oh i do have WindowServer running at 19.12 Real Memory still not much but biggest process...
     
  9. ViciousShadow21 macrumors 68020

    ViciousShadow21

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    To your left or right
    #9
    just to clarify what do you see under activities monitor when sorting by CPU? what is it that is taking up all that power?
     
  10. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #10
    check with activity monitor, it will show system proesses aswell. istat just shows user processes.
     
  11. MacOCD thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    #11
    I did check those with Activity Monitor, nothing huge is being processed, i have reset several times as well...\

    Checking All Processes
     
  12. ViciousShadow21 macrumors 68020

    ViciousShadow21

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    To your left or right
    #12
    this is weird tho i mean i dont think your CPU is just sitting there counting sheep for no reason. something has got to be going on.
     
  13. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #13
    are you sure that you have selected the right options??

    oh ok i saw your update... hhmm let me think for a bit, why dont you post a screenie for us? check disk usage too. its probably just indexing
     

    Attached Files:

  14. MacOCD thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    #14
    Up all checked off, only thing uses the Cpu over 4.5 is Activity monitor and Finder...
     
  15. MacOCD thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    #15
    WWait kernal_task is running 103 o_O
     
  16. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #16
    where were you reading the CPU usage from b4? is it still that high?

    wanna post a) a screenie of Act mont and b) the program that had the high CPU reading (istat was it?)
     
  17. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #17
    hhhmmmmmmmmmmm.. thats not normal. what is your disk activity reported as in activity monitor>?
     
  18. ViciousShadow21 macrumors 68020

    ViciousShadow21

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    To your left or right
    #18
    yea a screen shot would help.

    EDIT - id say DoFoT9 has got this.
     
  19. MacOCD thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    #19

    Reads In: 6724
    Writes out: 2148
    Reads in /sec 0
    Wrires out /sec 0
    Data read 198.26
    Data written 0 bytes
    Data read /sec 0 bytes

    Peak is at 550.92 kb/sec
     
  20. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #20
    thats retarted...problem isnt there. is the kernel listed as "NOT RESPONDING" ??
     
  21. MacOCD thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    #21
    Sec getting Screen shot

    And no does not say not responding.
     
  22. JNB macrumors 604

    JNB

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    In a Hell predominately of my own making
    #22
    Check to see if any of the *Sync clients are running. If you're using Mobile Me and syncing automatically, they can chew up huge amount of CPU cycles. If so, once they're idle check again. I'll jump from an average 5-7% to 31% System usage and more in a heartbeat with a sync cycle.
     
  23. MacOCD thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    #23
  24. MacOCD thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    #24
    Don't use Mobile Me, this computer has basically nothing on it after a reinstall.
     
  25. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #25

Share This Page