512MB VRAM for Photoshop CS5 and two monitors

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by oferk, Dec 13, 2011.

  1. oferk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    #1
    Hello,

    I currently have an old MBP from 2007, with Geforce8600 and 128mb vram. It works fine with photoshop until I plug in my new external monitor, and then the opengl features, like the rotate canvas tool are disabled. I guess its because of the amount of vram.
    Anyway, Im planning to buy a new laptop soon, and Im considering my options. I don't see any reason for me to buy the higher end 15" model, except maybe the larger vram. I don't do any 3D, only 2D drawings, after effects and premiere, which I know won't benefit from the better video card. So, is any of you knows if the 512MB card is enough to support two high-res monitors (1600-1400 and 1920-1080)?

    Thanks!
     
  2. JamesGorman macrumors 65816

    JamesGorman

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #2
    I believe the 512MB card will be more than enough.
     
  3. dusk007 macrumors 68040

    dusk007

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    #3
    With todays VRAM resolution really isn't the problem.
    How much you need depends on how much the applications/games need to work well or how many different windows you switch between all the time. Every Windows visible or not takes a bit of VRAM in OSX.
     
  4. oferk thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011

Share This Page