5400rpm vs 7200rpm, replace hard drive?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by wallaby, Jun 12, 2008.

1. wallaby macrumors 6502

wallaby

I'm studying abroad in the Fall, and figured I need some sort of portable backup solution to bring with me. I'm decided on the best way to do it, though.

What I'm considering:
    1. (simplest) Buy a 320Gb Passport and use it as an external.
    2. (fastest) Buy a 200Gb 7200rpm drive and replace the on in my MBP, then get an enclosure for the 160Gb drive that I take out.
    3. (largest) Same as 2, but a 320Gb 5400rpm drive instead of a smaller, faster one.

I'm tempted to go with 1 because I don't want to screw up the installation of the hard drive on my one and only computer. What do you guys think? What kind of difference in speeds would I see in a 7200rpm drive vs the 5400 drive I've got?

2. kornyboy macrumors 68000

Wirelessly posted (iPhone: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU like Mac OS X; en) AppleWebKit/420.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.0 Mobile/4A102 Safari/419.3)

With a 7200 rpm drive you will get a noticeable speed boost but you will also get a noticeable drop in battery life. Just something to think about. It is also not very difficult to change a HD out in a MBP. You just have to make sure you keep up with all the screws. There are plenty of online step by step instructions on how to do it (just FYI).

3. Cave Man macrumors 604

Cave Man

You should choose the hard drive that suits your needs. If you need fast booting and random access, go with a 7200. If you need fast sustained read and writes, go with a 320 gig 5400. See this link for more info.

4. alphaod macrumors Core

alphaod

I hope you tested that claim, because as far as I know, the 7200RPM drive uses the same power as the 5400RPM drives.

What is the difference between going #1 and #3; they are the same, except you don't get the enclosure in #3

5. Cave Man macrumors 604

Cave Man

Alpha,

How's that new Samsung drive doing for you?