5670 gaming results. Has anyone tried?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by diegobgr, Aug 1, 2010.

  1. diegobgr macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    #1
    Hi!

    Tomorrow, I will order my iMac.

    I will get 21,5" with 5670.

    Has anyone played any games?
     
  2. Petered macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #2
    Good

    The 5670 is a great card I have two in my alienware!!!
     
  3. TMRaven macrumors 68020

    TMRaven

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #3
    The 5670 in the iMac is a mobility 5730. here are some benchmarks for it-- but only under windows.
     
  4. zao8350 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    #4
    my dad got the 27" i7 with the 5750 and it is very nice. I installed CoD4 and played it at max resolution and everything maxed (including AA) and got a great performance except when there were big explosions. then it would drop the frame rate dramatically momentarily. Overall, very nice for a mac though. I imagine the 5670 is pretty close to this and will give you great results!
     
  5. edddeduck macrumors 68020

    edddeduck

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    #5
    Had a quick smoke test on some Feral games on Friday, the 5870 runs pretty much everything we threw at it on native resolution with max settings on the 27" iMac.
     
  6. EthanNixon macrumors 6502a

    EthanNixon

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #6
    How did you get a 5870 with an iMac?
     
  7. edddeduck macrumors 68020

    edddeduck

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    #7
    Sorry I think it was the 1GB VRAM 5750 model. I don't have any special iMac here.
     
  8. DKfraDK macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    #8
    No of course you don't Steve ;)
     
  9. DKfraDK macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    #9
    No of course you don't Steve ;)
     
  10. TMRaven macrumors 68020

    TMRaven

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #10
    The 5750 in the top end iMacs is mobility 5850. Just overclock it 10% and presto. you have a mobility 5870 in the new iMacs.
     
  11. barefeats macrumors 65816

    barefeats

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2000
    #11
    Some one asked me if the 5670 at 1920x1080 is equal to the 5750 at 2560x1440 -- assuming you want to run games at native rez on both.

    I don't have the answer but here are some results for the Core i3 with 27" display and 5670 running against a Core i5 and Core i7 with 27" screen and 5750...

    X-Plane 9.60 timedemo at 2560x1440, High Quality, 2X AA, 4X Aniso:
    Core i3 = 67 fps
    Core i5 = 103 fps
    Core i7 = 118 fps

    If any of you have Portal or Team Fortress 2, I have timedemo files for both that I'll send you.
     
  12. EthanNixon macrumors 6502a

    EthanNixon

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #12
    The only question I have about gaming performance is with Counter-Strike: Source on Windows.

    FPS with i5 + 5670 at 2560x1440 (High, Medium, and Low Graphics if possible)
    FPS with i5 + 5750 at 2560x1440 (High, Medium, and Low Graphics if possible)

    I am a competitive gamer, and I play CS:S at 640x480 when I game seriously. However, when I am just practicing and what not I like to play on the native resolution of my monitor. So basically, if I can play with anywhere between 80-120FPS at 2560x1440 I will definitely buy an iMac 27". If not, I will just hook it up to my gaming monitor when I play seriously, that shouldn't be too much of an issue, right?
     
  13. Ace134blue macrumors 6502a

    Ace134blue

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #13
    Wtf is wrong with you??? 640by480??? Talk about an eye sore
     
  14. EthanNixon macrumors 6502a

    EthanNixon

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #14
    That's why I only play at that resolution for matches or tournaments. I play native resolution for less serious things, like practice or pugs. It's not a big deal if the iMac can't get 80+ FPS at native resolution, although I am pretty sure I could make it do that. I have one of the best FPS configs for Counter-Strike Source and a lot of professional players use it, as well as amateur players.

    640x480 = a complete consistent game, which is what anyone would want when they are playing competitively.
     
  15. Ace134blue macrumors 6502a

    Ace134blue

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #15
    No your wrong. You might do that buy nobody, meaning serious gamers play at that resolution. Since you don't use a high dpi mouse, I'm guessing, than aiming at that low of a red would be a pain. I play competivelity on Crysis wars on a 1080p and I kick ass. I do get 60 or so. Gamers don't lower their res, they lower the graphics settings. Low res's gives you a lot less room to aim, and some games lower the Fov when lowering the res. I don't know why you would néed 80+ as your limit will be only 60fps. I get like 400fps on my system on CSS.
     
  16. Matthew9559 macrumors 6502a

    Matthew9559

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #16
    Anyone else have any info?

    I will be purchasing either the 21.5" (higher model) or 27" iMac (lowest model) at an Apple store in a week or so. I want to play TF2, CS:S, DOD:S, SCII and WoW. Not interested in much else. Getting Steam on Mac OS X was like answering my prayers.

    Anyways, will I be able to game at medium settings at native res on both machines at 40+ fps? Considering the models from the store I would be purchasing. I will add RAM in a few months most likely.

    I have my consoles for gaming but really do want a machine that can handle the Valve Steam titles I am interested in. I am sold on every other aspect of getting an iMac, this is the last thing I want to find out more about.
     
  17. Benjones-KY macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    #17
    I've only met one person who plays at that resolution in competitive TF2. He claimed that he liked the more blocky look and helped him focus on hitboxes. That's terrible reasoning and he wasn't that good.
     
  18. diegobgr thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    #18
    Well, it seems to be enough to play most games at high settings.

    There are some cases like Crysis, Metro 2033...that we will have to put settings to medium but I really don't care.
     

Share This Page